You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality

2

Bute Terrace, Cardiff, CF10 2FE

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (56)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Samantha Jones

  • December 2016

Great stay

Hotel is undergoing renovations to all room we were lucky to have a room that has just got renovated.

What a difference. We stayed here previously and didn't rate this hotel only for the location and price. The rooms are lovely big comfy bed, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, two kettle tea and coffee. The room had everything we needed for our stay and was in a good location. We will definitely stay here again.

  • A Record

  • December 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality

Lovely staff, great value for cheap & cheerful, very clean and comfy bed, lots lively hot water for bath/shower.

  • L Parry

  • October 2016

Dirty!!!

The room was full of dust carpets weren't hoovered I felt dirty just standing in the room never ever again!!!!

  • Lesley S

  • October 2016

Never staying again

Have stayed in budget hotels before, but at least they were clean.

Felt it was student accommodation rather than hotel. Don't think bathroom floor had been cleaned all year. Stains on floor in bedroom etc.

  • Nicola M

  • September 2016

A clean affordable hotel

A clean affordable hotel

Very clean

Very polite and friendly staff

Nice big and comfortable bed

  • Simone B

  • September 2016

Functional

This was ok to just crash for a night when visiting the city, but stuffy as windows do not open (too close to railway for that - would be noisy otherwise).

There was a fan, which helped, but it was very dusty, and we wouldn't have left it on overnight.

  • Christine K

  • September 2016

Very poor value for money

The price for the room was far too high it was £130 for 1 night I think it was only worth around £50 to £60 it was after all a 2 star and that was certainly what it felt like.

Had the breakfast. Had to pay an extra £5.50 each the food on offer was all the cheapest products available

Carpet in room stained wouldn't,t want to stay again.

  • Jean W

  • July 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality

Fan in the bathroom was full of dust.

Everything else was very clean.

  • Robert P

  • July 2016

Clean but poor standard of room

The room had clearly not been refurbished in the last 15 years.

Standard comparatively poor. But was clean. Noise from nearby rooms and nearby railwayline very audible.

  • Matthew C

  • June 2016

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Experience

The front of house staff here were excellent, efficient yet friendly.

They even allowed us to leave our luggage for a few hours after checking out until our transport arrived. But it is a drab, boxy building with entrances, both front and back, at best described as utilitarian. You have to pay a little extra for a cooked breakfast, but if you can satisfy with cereal, toast, pastries and fruit you will not go hungry. My room was OK, nothing more, but having spoken to the new housekeeper, who was wonderful by the way, it seems improvements are on the way. A large upgrade, including the removal of lots of pink will make this a decent choice for a budget price.