You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - 1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms

4

1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms, 400 Stainland Road, Halifax, HX4 9HF

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L McClusky

  • November 2016

Excellent room, breakfast poor.

Accommodation was great.

The room was spacious and clean. Plenty of fluffy white towels and the tea tray was always stocked up. Would've liked a bath in the room as staying with very young children but it wasn't the end of the world. The music from the bar downstairs was very loud until about 11pm. Breakfast was awful. Continental breakfast delivered in a basket at 8.30am outside your door. Not really anywhere in the room to eat it. Would've liked a full English breakfast as they were doing that in the bar downstairs anyway but would've had to pay extra for that. We had an evening meal in the bar which was AMAZING. Bar staff were lovely and friendly.

  • Michelle M

  • November 2016

1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms

Lovely rustic room, very spacious.

Food in restaurant was first class!

  • Lisa H

  • July 2016

1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms

Beautiful spacious clean room

  • Paul B

  • April 2016

Good small hotel

Plus points: Room very well equipped clean and freshly renovated.

Adult food in 1885 pub very good

Minus Points:

Room had annoying hum from something, probably the hot water system or similar in the locked closet connected to the room; you don't notice it normally but when lying awake at 2am it's very apparent. That hum would be enough to stop us staying again. Children's menu in 1885 pub: I'm guessing it was created by somebody that didn't have young children. Not great for fussy eaters.

  • M Grindrod

  • May 2015

excellent!

Clean, warm well appointed room, the bed was very comfortable and the room quiet.

Evening meal in the bar was first class with good range of choices, breakfast was delivered to the room in a picnic hamper and was more than I could eat. Staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay again

  • T Knowles

  • April 2015

Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and good facilities with some lovely touches.

The breakfast however was a huge disappointment. Cornflakes!. ( does anyone actually eat cornflakes any more?) a Granny Smith Apple (hardly breakfast food) and a tiny black banana. There was barely enough milk for 2 and a croissant filled with ham and cheese, yes I know this is continental but not everyone eats cheese. It would have been better to have a separate packet with the ham and cheese and a pot of jam to give people a choice. The dinner we had in the pub however was absolutely delicious, would definitely eat there again.

  • I Chatfield

  • April 2015

What a great place

  • P Brown

  • January 2015

1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms

Great stay.