You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Slaley Hall - QHotels

4

Slaley, Hexham, NE47 0BX

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David D

  • August 2016

Relaxing surroundings

The helpfulness of the staff stood out for us; whichever member of staff you met they greeted you and if you seemed unsure about where you were going they did not just direct you, they took you to your destination.

The menu did not change in our 3 day stay but we found great choices with unusual twists; a black pudding caused initial dismay as there were large white pieces showing but in fact it was not lumps of fat but delicious pieces of potato in a fat free black pudding. Our only down points were reception on arrival was busy so we queued for a while and then the receptionist did not engage with us over supposed availability of paying for upgrades; breakfast was varied but the cooked eggs and bacon had been sitting there for a while so they were not fresh. However overall these were small issues in a restful and well appointed hotel.

  • Ben F

  • August 2016

Check in

The room wasn't ready upon arrival and check in time stated, so had to wait 30 mins in the lobby to enter.

  • P Smith

  • July 2016

Great Hotel fantastic service!

Definitely recommended, great hotel great service good facilities and walks.

Staff very helpful, would stay again. Only slight negative the price of beer was £4.20 a pint, a little high. otherwise really nice!

  • Julie S

  • January 2016

Lovely relaxing stay

We booked for a 4 night midweek stay to relax after a stressful December.

We'd stayed at Slaley Hall before a couple of times. I asked for a room close to reception and other amenities as my health is not great at the minute, and we were given a beautiful room near the indoor spa entrance and just a few steps from reception. Perfect. The hotel itself is wonderful, although the pool area is starting to look a bit neglected with tiles coming off etc. Our evening meals were delicious but the breakfast was hit and miss all week, think they had a couple of different chefs working as the Tuesday morning the sausage was undercooked and the bacon was fatty and awful, so I avoided a full breakfast for the rest of the week and stuck with scrambled egg on toast, but even that was different each day. One great thing about the restaurant is they now accept Tastecards so we got all our evening meals 2-for-1. We thoroughly enjoyed every single one. I had a wonderful massage in the spa with Kayleigh, who was excellent. Don't get the milkshake in the spa bar though, it was grainy and full of sugar, eurgh. One frustrating experience turned good was with reception, I couldnt find a postbox so they said they'd make sure my mother got her birthday card on Tuesday but it never arrived. I sent an email after my return on Friday to ask about it and someone actually hand-delivered it to her on Saturday morning. Nice touch. The hotel WiFi wasn't working for most of the week and there is no mobile signal at Slaley so keeping in touch with anyone on the outside was impossible without using the room phone, just be prepared for this if you're going on business, as I had a few work jobs I needed to do on my laptop and couldn't get connected. Overall, a great stay but a few improvements could be made.

  • Mike Hughes

  • December 2015

Slaley Hall - QHotels

Good service, excellent staff and will be back.Thank you.

Again thank you all for a very pleasant experience.

  • S Dixon

  • November 2015

Amazing night, amazing hotel

From checking in to checking out the hotel staff were on point.

Our room was outstanding although feel the bathroom could have been updated. Would definitely stay again.

  • Lynda M

  • July 2015

Slaley Hall

Very disappointing and tired.

  • David Harrison

  • June 2015

Pretentious Travelodge

Poor restaurant service, over-priced bar, characterless room, just an over-priced Travelodge but with a Spa

  • P Ayre

  • April 2015

Re-woo weekend

Where do I start .

Cold main course and long delay with sweet course

Inadequate heating in room

Noisy air con System reported it to night porter on two nights he investigated it and left a report proposing a change of room nothing happened

Key card failed every day, long delay at desk to get it sorted

The catering spoilt the weekend.Very over priced food for a low standard

  • Julia D

  • April 2015

Highly recommended

I stayed 2 nights with my 12 year old daughter and we both absolutely loved it.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is tastefully decorated. Our standard twin room was spacious and contained everything we expected. We used the pool and sauna but unfortunately my daughter wasn't allowed in the gym as she was under 16. It would have been useful if this had been pointed out to us when booking to avoid disappointment however it didn't spoil our stay. Breakfast was excellent however we chose to eat evening meal in a nearby town as found the restaurant quite pricey. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we will definitely book again.