You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Highfield Hotel


101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT

Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • P Hart

  • June 2015

At last a hotel that gives what it promises

An absolute pleasure to stay at this family run Hotel, no fuss efficient check in/ check out , lovely clean rooms, polite, helpful, knowledgeable staff.

We had six bar meals and 6 breakfasts during our stay each one of them faultless. Top class Highfield, thanks


  • June 2015

Great Hotel

Everything about the hotel is great.

The Staff were so helpful and friendly could always find time to stop and chat. The Thai restaurant was excellent and well priced. I can only say good things about this hotel.

  • P Kidd

  • April 2015

Very pleased

I was upgraded as the room I had booked was not available.

  • m lothian

  • April 2015

Enjoyable stay.

Very pleasant and helpful staff

  • Dennis Freeman-Wright

  • April 2015

Unusual surprise

Hotel had a Thai restaurant attached to a standard hotel, the restaurant turned out to be surprisingly good.

Had a dog with me as I was dog minding for my daughter and the hotel was very accommodating.

  • Douglas Reid

  • March 2015

Excellent accommodation with no concerns

Fantastic value for money being a very clean and well run hotel taking into account the price paid.

  • Claire B

  • March 2015

Clean, tidy and good value

Clean, tidy and comfortable.

Really pleasant stay and a really good price.

  • david shillito

  • March 2015

would use again

did mention someone had been smoking in the room.

They did offer me a different room......but i had already unpacked and was tired so i declined.

  • d bye

  • March 2015

Great little find

  • P Cole

  • February 2015

Rather tired

Room was clean but "tired" and it smelt really stale.

Noise from next door rooms (TV and conversation) could be heard as well as traffic on road (with window shut). The toilet wasn't fixed properly to the floor so moved when sat on and didn't flush easily. There was never anyone behind reception (ie on arrival, when passed on way to breakfast or on way out). Worst hotel I've stayed in for a long while. Breakfast was okay apart from no glases for juice and no coffee - but by this point I just wanted to get on the way home.

Response from hotel

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and hopefully I can address a few points raised! For your stay you choose one of our basic single rooms. These rooms are the last to be updated however are clean and comfortable at at £41 per night offer excellent value for money, especially on valentines night when you stayed.

We have noted to problem with the toilet and the issue has been addressed. On a night receptionists do help behind the bar however the two areas are attached. Being a small hotel it would be impractical to have a receptionist just to man reception all night. It also helps us keep our costs down and is one of the reasons we can offer such a great room rate.

If you were to stay again I would recommend an upgraded room which start from just £20 extra per night however offer completely renovated rooms.