You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Academy

4

17-21 Gower Street, London, WC1E 6HG

Price From 151.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Soutar

  • November 2016

9th November versus 12th November

The room I had on 9th November was very nice and the staff helpful.

However the single room I stayed in on 12th November was not so comfortable. There was quite a difference in prices but I expected a single room to be as carefully turned out as the larger room.

  • Jacqui G

  • November 2016

Fabulous room & great location

Everything you could possibly want and of a high quality in a compact room.

Staff were very helpful. Location was great.

  • Michael B

  • November 2016

Shabby, expensive and staff don't really care

The Academy is really well located, but that's where the positives end.

It is the archetypal shabby London tourist hotel. Dirty, run-down, cramped and with lots and lots of stairs.

The window in our room was literally falling out of its frame, but the staff did nothing about it, so rain came in.

The whole hotel is dirty in that ground-in, decades-old way. The kind of carpets where you cringe if you walk barefoot. Needless to say, the Internet connection was sporadic and the breakfast buffet the very minimum they could get away with.

  • Adrian S

  • October 2016

The Academy

Fantastic hotel and great, central location.

  • Claire W

  • August 2016

A Find

Great service, really nice room with was the biggest I've ever had in London (we were given a suite).

Right on Gower Street do you need to be OK with a bit of traffic. Nice touches like the Nespresso machine and fruit in the room were really appreciated. Very comfortable, very clean. Staff were superb.

  • Nadine W

  • June 2016

Lovely Hotel Ideal location for central London and Euston Station

We prefer to stay in Gower Street as it is 10-15 min walk from Euston Station and 5 - 10 min walk to Oxford Street with central attractions easily accessible by transport or by walking.

This was our first stay at The Academy and was very pleasantly surprised. We had requested a family room but had been upgraded at no extra cost to the Garden Suite which comprised of a spacious room nicely furnished with a comfortable king size bed, a double bed and a settee. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with complimentary. There was a private and pretty patio garden at the rear of the room. Two TVs,mini bar, Iron, ironing board, hairdryer, bath robes and luxury towels were included. The hotel in itself was nicely decorated and furnished and again very clean . The staff were very welcoming and couldn't so enough for you to make our stay perfect. Good value for money and although we did not request to eat in the hotel am sure the food would have delicious with excellent service. We would definitely not hesitate to book this hotel again for our next trip to London. Thank you to all at The Academy!

  • deborah h

  • March 2016

The Academy

Lovely hotel, staff were excellent especially Carlos, he upgraded our room at no extra charge.

The room was very tastefully decorated and clean, the bed was huge and exceptionally comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and good quality fitments, good quality towels and dressing gowns available to use, along with Pecksniffs toiletries. The small walled courtyard garden off the room was beautiful - it was a shame we only had one night to enjoy the room as we were in transit and only one night in London. There is no lift but help was immediately available to assist with our luggage. The area is very centrally placed Euston station and St Pancras both being within walking distance.

  • MARIE L

  • November 2015

Location is not enough

The room was very small and the blind was broken with a note pinned to it.

Not a great experience.

  • C Mason

  • November 2015

Disappointing

The paintwork on the stairwell was scuffed (easily remedied one would have thought) which gave the impression of general grubbiness.

The grouting in the bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been and the quality of the workmanship round the tiles near the floor was poor.

The shower was poor. The bed had been made up after the first night and glasses moved etc but none of the surfaces had been wiped, nor the carpet vacuumed. The bathrobe was in a heap on the bed. However, the room was a good size and the bed very comfortable and big. A fruit bowl with only 3 apples does not really constitute a fruit bowl in my opinion and it would perhaps have been better not to have one, unless this was ticking a box to say that there is complimentary fruit. The hotel did have its charm, being, as it is, a Georgian building. I expected more for the price.

  • Kim G

  • November 2015

Fabulous location and lovely atmosphere

A lovely find.

The service was a little slow, but okay if you aren't in a hurry - great for a leisure break.