You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Pack of Cards

4

Pack of Cards, High Street, Combe Martin, EX340ET

Price From 127.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (34)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J NICHOLLS

  • October 2016

The Pack of Cards

What a wonderfully quirky place to stay.

The rooms are well equipped and comfortable but the Pack's prize asset must be it's staff. Nothing is too much trouble. We returned after dinner service had finished on a Sunday evening but they still allowed us to order a delicious dinner.

  • Richard M

  • October 2016

Pack of Cards Hotel, Combe Martin

My Son and I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst hiking along the South West Coast Path.

Its a great little hotel with a very good restaurant and pub. Our room was clean and well presented, the food at dinner and breakfast was very good. Both the room and food prices were good value and we would definitely stay here again. The only blemish on an otherwise fantastic stay was that wifi connectivity was somewhat hit and miss. We talked the the hotel staff about who were aware of the issue and said that the thickness of the walls (its an old building) presented some challenges in distributing a consistent signal despite the use of numerous wifi extenders. Nevertheless, if you go to Combe Martin stay here.

  • j g

  • October 2016

friendly and hospitable

From the moment we walked in we were made welcome.

The inn was quirky but we chose to stay here for that. We are evening and breakfast meals food was excellent. We would return to this inn any time we are I the area

  • C R

  • September 2016

Lovely and resful

We stayed for a long weekend for my partner's birthday.

I chose the pub as it was quirky and it was old - we love old buildings. We were not disappointed and had a lovely restful weekend. Landlord, landlady and all staff were very helpful and pleasent.

I booked the Magnolia room as the Fuchsia with king-size bed was already booked. I was a little disappointed as when booking it indicated that there was a bath in the en suite, I am assuming that was a typo. The Magnolia room has a double and a single bed - the single bed was very wobbly so it was a good job we did not need it. The door to the en suite would not shut as the hinges had dropped. We did mention it, but also said that we were not hugely bothered about someone coming in to fix it during our stay - hopefully it has been fixed on our leaving. The room had creaky floorboards (not complaining) and a sloping ceiling but was lovely and clean, not huge but perfectly comfortable. On the Sunday the other rooms were vacated so we took the opportunity to move to the Fuchsia room. Delightful and well worth the extra £10. Kingsize bed with memory foam mattress, original ceiling decoration and a lovely large shower which looked like it had recently been refurbed. There was a good choice for breakfast, tea, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereal, porridge (to order) and full English with a combination of bacon, egg, beans, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, whatever you would like. The only disappointment was the cheap bread used for the toast.

We had evening meal on Satuday - starter was Kalamari, then Sea Bass and the Ribs - all very good. We also had the Carvery on Sunday. Our local has the most incredible Carvery so it needed to be FANTASTIC to beat it. It was not FANTASTIC but it was bloomin' good and we really enjoyed it. Just 2 nit-picking issues, the cauliflower cheese was not cooked and the gravy was too strong - I would suggest trying the gravy before putting it on the meal. One good thing was that there was beef gravy and also chicken gravy - so one or the other may be more to your liking. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Jonathan Randall

  • September 2016

Great overnight stay, while travelling around the coast.

This was a great place to stay.

The food, accommodation and staff were all excellent. Set in a beautiful picturesque village cove, there isn't too much to do, but what there is, is great.

  • abhishek galoda

  • September 2016

Nice place but could have been better

Nice cozy Small room with slanted floor :P, probably because it was so old.

Room was tidy and clean and well maintained.

Only downside was they take last order for food at 8 which is quite early :P, food was excellent.

  • Chris Ingram

  • August 2016

Pack O Cards dealt a Royal Flush

The best UK accommodation that I have stay at for over three years.

Staff were great, owners were great, guests were great. I am a cobweb freak and did not find any in the room. Food was great, maybe a little too much on plate. Fully recommended.

  • Bryan Bradley

  • August 2016

A Place to Visit More Than Once

This place is a little gem.

From the very warm welcome when we arrived through to the sincere cheerio when we left I cannot fault it. Excellent room with very comfortable bed. Shower not as powerful as you may want but still OK. Breakfast from cereal right up to full english and anything in between cannot be faulted. Large outside beer garden. Perfect for families. It is so popular in the village that you may have to wait a bit for your evening meal, but its worth it. Will I stay again. You bet we will.

  • James G

  • August 2016

Excellent place, especially for the price

Stayed two nights in July and loved it.

Great food (in particular the calamari) and very friendly, chatty owners. Lively in the evenings with a nice beer garden. Easy access to the beach and local amenities. Highly recommended.

  • d nield

  • August 2016

Brilliant B&B

Lovely bed and breakfast.

Staff professional and friendly. Owners made us feel welcome. Room was clean and every amenity catered for. DVD in room with films free for rainy nights. Breakfast was really nice as was on site restaurant. Brilliant beer garden with play areas for children.would highly recommend this bed and breakfast for families or couples. My partner especially enjoyed the Cornish larger.will definitely return when next in the area.