You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Appledown House

4

Lamerton, TAVISTOCK, PL19 8SD

Price From 118.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Susan Rushton

  • September 2016

Appledown House

The food was wonderful, from local residents.

location was wonderful, with a great view from the breakfast table. Small room, but we made do. Very friendly hosts.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us for one night and to hear about your busy schedule as you dash around the UK! We were sorry to hear you felt tight for space in the room you booked with us via the booking agency, however, the larger airier room with the small conservatory was available when you booked and you could have had that one with pleasure. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

With best wishes,

Gil and Dave

  • Richard L

  • August 2016

Small rural paradise

Being in the middle of the country, this is only accessible by car.

There are only 2 ensuite rooms, making it very quiet. Gill is available when required, but does not intrude. English breakfast plus stewed fruit, yoghurt & cereals. Big green garden with swimming pool. Fantastic view of fields on rolling hills. A short drive to Tavistock town, or Dartmoor national patk. 45 mins from Plymouth city. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Lesley H

  • August 2016

Lovely stay

We were made to feel very welcome.

The accommodation was very comfortable and the locally sourced food was superb.

  • T Low

  • June 2016

Great B and B

Very friendly.

Fantastic breakfast.

  • G Allen

  • April 2016

Appledown House

The friendliness and welcome from Jill made our stay in Devon a most pleasant experience.

She provided fresh coffee upon arrival, which after a 6hr car journey was much appreciated. We were told that if anything was needed we were only to ask, nothing was too much trouble. Even though Dave her husband was more reserved in nature he cooked a fantastic breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed. Homemade bread & yogurt was available and the sausages were locally sourced we were informed. The house is situated between Dartmoor & Bodmin moor so afforded us stunning views from our room. The only downside is the two rooms are very close so all conversation can be heard so if our friends had not been in the other accommodation could of been off putting. Would we want to stay again if in the area. Definitely, thank you Jill & Dave you work very hard.

Response from hotel

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with your friends. We note your comment regarding noise from the adjoining room where your friends were staying. The walls between the rooms, and the two interconnecting doors are insulated to reduce noise but, of course, it's impossible to sound proof the rooms completely, no more could you in a normal house. You were a lively, friendly group and could be heard quite clearly at times so we're guessing you were having fun and enjoying yourselves! Thankfully, no other reviewers seem to have experienced a problem but we are grateful to you for pointing it out and will ensure guests, particularly where both rooms are occupied by friends/relatives, are warned that some noise may be heard.

  • MATTHEW G

  • October 2015

Great place to stay!

Lovely area, really nice couple running the B & B with probably the best breakfast I've ever had - including locally-sourced sausages, egg and bacon.

Spacious room and fantastic view of the Moor (even with the mist coming down)

  • G Charles

  • July 2015

Appledown House Excellent

The accommodation was excellent and nothing too much trouble for the hosts.

The breakfast was superb. Fresh eggs, homemade bread, local bacon and sausages cooked to perfection. Thank you Gil and Dave.

  • Barbara P

  • May 2015

No complaints

Friendly, helpful hosts, nice room with excellent linen and excellent shower.

breakfast very good - and excellent coffee.

  • Belinda M

  • February 2015

Comfort away from home

Could not fault our stay even though it was only for one night in winter.

I visited with my mother, my sister, my niece and her newborn baby son - hence we booked both rooms which are adjoining. The room was more than comfortable and every need had been thought out and catered for. The hosts Gill and Dave were both very welcoming and keen to ensure our stay was comfortable.