You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3

35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (96)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Martin

  • April 2015

Royal Albion Hotel

Great experience, local and easy completion.

  • Olga A

  • April 2015

It is not the 3 star hotel it is a cheapest hostel!

The stay was very very bad.we paid 200 paunds for 2 nights and we get for this money broken air conditioning, dirty towels, smell of paint.

The back after the bed was hurting all day. Staff in this hotel are very rude and unpopulated. If you want to have a nice quiet and relaxing holiday it is not the right place to stay. It was the worst experience I ever had.

  • Lucy G

  • April 2015

Don't be tempted by the good location...

Bedsheets were dirty on arrival and the whole bedroom had the distinct smell of the toilet in the attached bathroom.

Paid for a searoom view but the scaffolding blocked the view. Other than that it was fine until 7am on Saturday morning when workmen started work loudly right outside our window for two hours. I would recommend staying anywhere else in Brighton.

  • Mike Clayton

  • April 2015

Looking for no frills and central then look no more.

The hotel is in fantastic location for a Brighton stay.

2mins from central pier and beech and 3 mins from the shops/lanes. The hotel is fairly tiered but you are not paying 5 star prices. Breakfast was also OK and did the job!

  • D Day

  • March 2015

Room is too small for price

  • Steve A

  • March 2015

Right place, right time

We needed somewhere to crash after a gig.

Great location.Small room but we weren't expecting more. Only disappointing thing was the cathode ray TV - hey guys, your Internet connection was great, the TV just takes up space in a small room and a couple of usb ports would be welcome. Staff (desk & bar) friendly and helpful. Lift is bit asthmatic so travel light or be patient. Reliably informed by my other half that other rooms are fabulous - she uses it for business - so maybe next time ( if we get it together to book in time and make a weekend of it). Of its kind, with its own charm and idiosyncracies.

  • Sandra M

  • March 2015

OK for one night

Room was small, quiet, no window (would be nice to know beforehand), clean but very run down.

Tv was working but the screen made the picture look pink at the top, heating was working fine and the water temperature & pressure was also great (bath a bit old, would not have a bath in it, but fine for a shower). Ok if you just need a place to stay, but would not recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Adrian W

  • March 2015

A very unsatisfactory experience

I think the crumbling building (apologies for storm damage up everywhere) would be forgivable if it was not accompanied by disinterested customer service.

The whole place felt like somewhere from a different decade (not in a good way), dowdy, depressed, lack-lustre. And then there was the scaffolding and the workmen right outside the bedroom window at 8:30. A nice breakfast might have cheered me up, but unfortunately the breakfast was very bad. I really would not stay there again

  • Sarah M

  • March 2015

In desperate need of work

Obviously a very old building, I can imagine that once upon a time it was quite grand, but now it's tired and very dated.

My room was at the end of a series of long corridors opposite unused function rooms that gave it quite an eerie feel. Furniture old and mismatched, windows drafty, 70s carpet, ceiling had a big damp stain, bed hard but sheets clean, broken power socket surrounds, at least the bathroom has had a makeover but still lacking a decent shower curtain. Overall, somewhere to sleep and wash yourself but more hostel standard than hotel.

  • Debra M

  • March 2015

Don't stay on the 5th floor

Stayed in room 512.

It stunk of damp and stale smoke. Complained to the receptionist every morning but nothing was done about it. I even begged for a plug in air freshener. We were eventually moved on the last night after having to ask. We tried about 3 other rooms on the 5th floor before finding one that didn't smell. We are still trying to get the smell out of our clothes and bags.