You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

5

King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne, BN21 4EQ

Price From 253.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

64% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Gillian F

  • September 2016

Customer service is always outstanding

We brought our 2 year old grandson to stay with us.

Very family-oriented and welcoming. Max had a great time and we had a relaxed break too. Just wonderful. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • K Watson

  • September 2016

The Grand Hotel

The room was a little dated, I know its a old timey hotel but the 70s bed throw covered in flowers and super faded put me right off the room as soon as we walked in!.

once off the bed and hidden in the cupboard the room was nice if a little small. we paid extra for a sea view and could only just about see the sea so was disappointed by that. Also no mini bar which in a 5* I would expect. The staff were really lovely and super friendly. We had breakfast brought up to our room and that was great. We had treatments in the spa and while the treatments were brilliant the swimming pool area massively let the spa down. There were quite a few tiles missing in the whirlpool and in the main pool. The changing rooms could do with a massive revamp. Not really a 5* spa but great treatments!

  • A Jones

  • May 2016

The Grand Hotel

The best hotel experience I have had.

From the moment we arrived we were looked after brilliantly. The car was parked for us and bags taken straight up to our room. We were given an upgrade because it was the first time we had stayed in the hotel and it was my birthday. We could not fault anything about the room. It was perfect. Discovering the outdoor pool was 27 degrees was the icing on the cake. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • i shaw

  • April 2016

Old world service.

Possibly the best service I have experienced in any hotel.

The staff are polite, professional, respectful and courteous. Nothing about the Grand can be faulted save perhaps it has a slightly "tired" feel to the decor generally. Quality of food and drinks selection is excellent and to be honest, if you would like the best, The Grand is probably the only hotel in town.

  • Vanessa P

  • September 2015

Very dated, family dining was terrible.

The hotel is 150 years old, so I expect it to be Victorian, but the rooms, bathrooms and furnishings were very dated.

It smelt musty and could really do with fresh carpets, curtains and proper showers being installed. There were nice touches i.e. cookes and milk at bedtime for the children, robes (although one was so frayed I had to return it), and a nice indoor and outdoor pool with jacuzzi. The most disappointing though was the family dining restaurant. They had a choice of pizza that my kids said tasted like spagetti bolognese and was hard and heated so it was like cardboard. The spag bog was not nice, and my 11 year old son will eat just about anything but even he couldnt stomach the fishcakes. My 8 year old daughter had bread rolls for dinner on the first night, so every other lunch and dinner we had to eat out. There was also only an option of expensive silver service menu for adults, with a buffet for kids, so by the time mine came they were ready to go. Really really disappointing.

  • Georgina G

  • August 2015

70 th birthday family weekend celebration

The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

An excellent hotel for a special weekend of celebration. Particularly impressed with the temperature of the outside heated pool; Also the jazz band and string quartet in evenings and sunday afternoon. Also the pianist during supper. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Grand lives up to its name.

  • Jacqueline Bird

  • August 2015

Not so grand

Extremely awful service at a breakfast that was certainly not 5*.

I do not expect to clear my own table. The shower in the bath - NO walk in shower - was unusable unless you wanted scalding or freezing. Drinks in the evening in the lounge were very slow in arriving, and then were wrong. Not the experience I wanted.

  • christine t

  • July 2015

Grand experience

We had a wonderful time the staff were very helpful.

We had read that the men needed a tie or a jacket, but this was not enforced, some had gone in t-shirts very disappointing.

  • Neil P

  • July 2015

A Grand week away

Excellent week, the attitude of the staff and their friendly service, made this a great place to stay.

Facilities are really good, plenty of space to enjoy a coffee or a meal in a relaxing environment, the pool, spa and gym were not crowded and a joy to use. I look forward to staying there again.

  • M Reid

  • May 2015

The Grand Hotel

The hotel needs a face lift to bring it into the modern world.

Its missing the right mix of old world grandeur with new furnishings which aren't just old and tired, which other establishments of the same era have managed to do. My 12 year old son summed up well by saying it felt like we were staying in an old age home. Curtains, carpets and furniture are just old and need updating. Quality of service was mixed with some being wonderfully helpful like the doormen and others being less so. Both mornings we had to queue for no reason for breakfast when there were plenty of tables available but no one at the door to seat guests. Not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast options again are not of 5 star quality and presentation needs some serious work. I have seen far better laid out buffets at 4 star establishments. Having big areas that you have to walk past where they have piled dirty crockery and cutlery is also unpleasant. The food however is very good. Room was comfortable and clean. Overall it was fine but wouldn't recommend or go back.