You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa

3

Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Mark R

  • November 2016

Manor House Hotel & Spa

We upgraded to a superior room and really enjoyed the large room with four poster bed and loads of character.

My wife enjoyed the spa facilities and the breakfast and everything else was fine.

  • Robert Edwards

  • October 2016

Enjoyable stay

The hotel is very old which is part of its charm, this does mean that the showers don't work as well as modern ones.

We still enjoyed our stay & would book at this hotel again.

  • Arthur E

  • September 2016

Anniversary night away

Lovely room.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Receptionist asked if it was a special occasion. We told her it was our anniversary. On arrival at the restaurant were told that the bottle of wine was on the house. Lovely touch. Our 3rd stay here and we'll be back.

  • Clare W

  • July 2016

Our bedroom was beautiful, four poster bed - extra lengthy, which was brilliant for my tall partner - the shower was really powerful and the view from the window out into the garden was peaceful.

Service was a bit patchy - had to wait about 5 minutes before being greeted at reception and although one of the waiting staff was on the ball the others were a little incompetent.

  • Debra Thornton

  • March 2016

Fab hotel, fab weekend

The Manor house hotel was lovely we felt like a Lord and Lady for the weekend.

The room was exciting large and the bed huge. Food was excellent and so was the atmosphere. The stables bar was very cosy and the staff extremely friendly. The Spa was a delight, relaxing in the Jacuzzi was just shear pleasure. West Auckland itself is very tired looking but in all honesty you really did not need to move out of the hotel because everything you needed was provided for.

  • M Devlin

  • February 2016

Room 35! Horredous room!

My partner and I were put in room 35.

We dragged our bags up a very grand staircase to find ourselves at the bottom of a very thin staircase which had rope as a bannister. Squeezing through the corridor we met our room. This room was a loft. After ducking to get through the door I then spent the remainder of the stay bent over. There was not one area in the room I could stand up. The beams were extremely low and the sloping ceilings made walking impossible. The bathroom although clean was ridiculous. There was a tiny bath which you could not lie in. The shower head was attached to the taps however with the sloping ceilings it meant you couldn't have a shower standing up. The alternative was to fold yourself up in the tub and use the shower head. The mirror was behind a beam so it could not be used without hiting your head. Which I did several times. Anyone with a disability, taller than 5ft 6 would not be advised to stay in this room.

The next morning there was no hot water. The heating clicked all day and night and the room was very cold even with the use of the portable heater. On the morning of check out I spoke with a young gentleman and explained about the room, he then questioned why I was put in that room, he agreed that it was a 'last resort room' and that there were plenty of other rooms we could have stayed in. He also grinned when he agreed the size and quality of the room was poor and unsuitable.

  • Michelle Cameron

  • February 2016

Enjoyable stay would go again a bit disappointed we couldn't get spa treatments but we were given a complimentary bottle of wine.

Staff very helpful

  • J Stone

  • February 2016

Medieval charm

Very good rooms.

Real medieval building with authentic interior real charm.

Always a lovely stay.

  • L Wilson

  • December 2015

lovely hotel - evening restaurant service could improve

Lovely hotel, 4 poster room wAs good value for money.

Reception and night staff were very helpful and professional. The only down side was the service in the restaurant on the evening, we were trying to eat our meal whilst staff were rushing to set up for breakfast all around us. We finished our meal and were asked if we would move to the lounge to finish our drinks as they wanted to get the table sorted for the morning. We felt like we had been rushed and pushed out which wasn't the best service.

  • R Nicholson

  • October 2015

Romantic place