You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Five Bells

3

108 BAYDON ROAD, NEWBURY, RG20 8HH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Mike B

  • November 2016

Good Value for Money Country Pub

Staff were very good , helpful and friendly , the room was a little different as the bath and shower were in the bedroom , although the toilet was enclosed .

The room was on two levels with the bathroom on the upper , so if you needed to pay a visit during the night you had to remember about this . The food choice and quality were very good, as was the breakfast although a little limited with no fruit or cereals only a full English and orange juice .but very well cooked and presented . I will book The Five Bells whenever I am in the area in the future , a great find .

  • Jules B

  • November 2016

A cosy pub that serves wonderful food

This is a very pleasant cosy pub.

The room we had was rather on the small side but was comfortable enough. The Manager and his wife were very pleasant and helpful. The pub provides a huge range of real ales that are well looked after. The food is absolutely wonderful and is highly recommended

  • R G

  • October 2016

nice rural location

We stayed for one night en route to Heathrow Airport.

When we arrived the premises were closed, but the owner opened for us following a phone call. The room was clean but rather small, but perfectly ok for a single night. The owner was helpful and attentive. Would recommend that you request a larger room if you intend to stay for longer

  • C Ciarleglio

  • September 2016

Proper country Inn, great food and service.

We booked here for a visit to Newbury .It is very easy to find and has good parking.Our room was quite small and fairly basic but the bed was very comfortable.Tea making facilities in the room .

Dinner was available in the inn and the choice was amazing. All food is made on the premises and good home cooking. We were given friendly service from all of the staff who seemed to really care. If you're in to real ales and ciders and good home cooking then this is the place for you. Breakfast was very good . The shining star of staying here was service.These folks really care.

  • Alisdair M

  • August 2016

Clean, comfortable room.

Very good stay after a long day, staff very helpful and friendly, room very clean and comfortable, food OK but very heavy on the salt which left me up during night gasping for water, breakfast however was excellent but still a little salty.

  • A B

  • July 2016

Fantastic stay!

Beautiful pub with seriously excellent food offered a quiet room at a great price- it definitely exceeded my expectations and I would recommend the Five Bells!

  • Nigel R

  • June 2016

Quaint old country pub.

My wife and I stayed at the Five Bells and were thoroughly satisfied with the place, it was home clean, not hospital clean, nice comfy bed, pumped hot water for the shower, room serviced daily, and of course the bar provided a fine selection of ales, some brewed on the premises, and a wide range of quality food.

The breakfasts were good, bacon, eggs, black pud etc, or cereals, and juice and coffee, or tea, nice friendly helpful staff, I would definitely recommend a stay here if you need accommodation near Newbury, way more character than a ghastly Travel Lodge, for a similar price.

  • Stephen C

  • March 2016

Fantastic country inn

We stayed 2 nights in room 1.

The room is large with very comfortable bed, walk in shower and roll top bath. It was very clean and warm. The food is gastro pub type but good quality and very well cooked. There is a great selection of beers, cider and wines we'll be back!

  • Jonathan O

  • December 2015

Very Good Experience

I recently stayed in the 5 Bells and would certainly recommend it.

The room I had was a bit a small and there were some minor issues with the shower head not being fitted properly but on the whole, the visit was very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent (particularly the breakfast) and the bar atmosphere was also very pleasant. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Claire E

  • October 2015

Amusing stay...!

I booked this as part of my mum's birthday present, as we were going to Highclere Castle the next day, which was just a short drive away.

When we arrived (around 5pm), the actual pub was closed, but we were greeted and shown to our room. We were the only ones staying, but as it was bank holiday Monday, this wasn't a surprise. This is where the amusement started..... Our room was an 'all in one room' with a double bed in the same room as the shower, sink and bath - thankfully, the toilet was in a separate room. Mum and I laughed about this a lot. When we asked if all the rooms were like Room 1, we were told this was the 'Honeymoon suite' - So, if you are staying with friends, parents etc - rather than spouse or partner - best request a room other than room 1!. It was very comfortable though, and the team did everything to make us feel welcome. We also ate in the pub that night - the food was great, and also great value. Breakfast the next morning was also ok - everything you could want was on offer - although we asked for dippy eggs and soldiers, which weren't quite dippy, but this didn't matter!