You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Bacon Arms by Marstons Inns

3

10 Oxford Street Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 1JB

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (15)

40% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • paul s

  • December 2016

Fawltey towers

First room I was given had a broken bed with the slats left on top The second room I was given had not been made up The housekeeper was damn rude and was arguing with the staff The owners were away The only positive was the chef ( stand in manager I think) called Chloe who although had been working for very long hours was very kind attentitive and courteous even with the housekeeper screaming down her face.

It was a pleasure to meet her and I wish her all the best.

  • Robert Pitts

  • December 2016

Bacon arms

  • S Wood-Antill

  • July 2016

Great beer

Beer and food were very good if a little pricey.

The room was huge with a large bathroom but a little tired, the corridor to the rooms needs a refurbishment. great breakfast.

  • Kay M

  • May 2016

Worth the money

Pleasant stay.

  • Clive S

  • April 2016

Room needs updating

Room decor shabby, shower curtain dirty, milk was off and dirty cup.

  • A Young

  • December 2015

Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Room too light and too noisy.

The layout of the room (number 11) is such that the curtains are a long way from the window.

This let far too much light into the room. It also meant that someone standing in the courtyard could see the bed via a mirror. Also there was a lock-in/party going on until after 3am centred in the courtyard outside my room.

  • debbie t

  • October 2015

OMG!!!

Never again!!!

  • Mark Jones

  • August 2015

Enjoyable stay

I enjoyed my stay here, room was pleasant and the bed comfortable.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The pub has a nice atmosphere and food was well cooked.

  • Theresa Williams

  • August 2015

A lovely hotel with character and fanstatic customer service

My mother and I stayed at the Bacon after an evening celebrating my daughter finishing Uni, the staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was brilliant, well done the Bacon, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • M Bradley

  • July 2015

Don't stay here!

We last went to the Bacon Arms 50 years ago and it doesn't appear to have been updated since then.

We had an outside room, which must have been a storage area at one time. I've never had to wipe my shoes clean when coming out of a room. Nothing much worked in the bathroom: the taps had to be pressed down, but the cold refused to turn off and the toilet wouldn't flush. We were told we could use the toilets in the pub, but that's not the point of having an en-suite and is awkward. The bed mattress was uncomfortable and we didn't have a very good night. We chose our food from the menu early as we knew we would have very little time, but when we rushed back to eat, everything we wanted (even the beer!) was 'off'. Apparently the menu was being changed next month (3 weeks hence) and not much was available. The food we did have was well cooked and enjoyable - as was breakfast - and the staff tried to be helpful, but really .... at £95 for a night, it was disgusting and we certainly won't stay here ever again.