You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Great Expectations

3

33 London Street, Reading, RG14PS

Price From 83.62 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • e abualzulof

  • October 2016

Great Expectations

The staff were friendly, the room nice and clean.

My issue was the breakfast with one guy serve all guests and the coffee runs out and no one there to make another pot.

  • H Kim

  • October 2016

a very comfortable place to stay

Great room, perfect size for one.

Reliable Wifi. Good breakfast, although toast and coffee were served cold. Friendly staff.

  • L E

  • September 2016

Beautiful Room

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely member of staff who immediately checked us in and gave us the key to our room.

We were able to gain access to the room prior to the check in time of 3pm which was fab as we were in reading for the festival. The room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Our room key also opened the front door meaning we could come back after midnight without any hassle. The bed was soft and comfortable to fall into after a long day at the festival. The breakfast was a good size and all good quality food products. We will definitely be booking again next year.

  • Mark B

  • June 2016

I'm sure if you are used to backpacking in third world countries that you would be happy to stay here.

However, I grew out of that a few years back and expected a bit more. The room was quite neat, but clearly the toilet hadn't been cleaned before I checked in because there was clear evidence of previous visits!. The beer was awful. Not sure if it was more cleaning fluid or just dirty lines but I couldn't drink it (and I tried 2 different ales!).

  • Elizabeth P

  • May 2016

Perfectly pleasant

We were in a twin room (which was actually a triple) on the second floor.

There were a lot of pigeons outside and a noisy fan outside the window which made it hard to sleep but was not too bad. A fan was provided in the room which was much needed. The hotel is clean and the beds were nice but nothing special. The breakfast was a selection of variety pack cereals, toast with jam or marmalade and a fried breakfast (which was basic but fine). The location was very practical, close to lots of restaurants and shops and with a bus stop outside where you can catch the 21 bus to the university (we were staying for a conference).

  • Adrian A

  • March 2016

Filthy but fun

The room was in a terrible condition.

There were wee stains behind the toilet seat that were missed by the cleaner on my first day, and I don't think the toilet, shower or sink were cleaned at all on the second day. The window latch was broken, and my door was left unlocked by the cleaners(I'm assuming cleaners as my bed was made, but nothing was cleaned). Food was good value for money, and the pub is excellent.

  • NICK W

  • January 2016

All good with us

Straight forward booking process - Room was as specified and a good nights sleep.

Morning staff were happy [New Years morning] and grub was good.

  • Kathryn W

  • November 2015

Excellent for a short stay with well appointed, comfy rooms and great location

The standard of accommodation was better than we expected with good sized rooms and bathrooms.

Comfy beds and bathroom. Things were a little dusty and bins hadn't been emptied. However important things like the bed linen were clean. There was some noise from bar next door but hardly the hotel's fault.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing with cheap quality drinks and very salty. Overall though our stay was good value and the hotel location was excellent.

  • Mark G

  • October 2015

Really nice hotel

This was a really good value hotel.

I booked it based on reviews and wasn't let down. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Also when I got there I found there was a microbrewery in the pub downstairs which was a bonus. The pub was a nice place to relax when I had a few hours to kill.

  • Alan J

  • October 2015

Did not meet expectations

Overall quality not good.

Experience made worse by room being just above the noisy beer garden. I didn't have great expectations of the hotel, but even so it fell short by some margin.