You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Newton House Hotel

3

Buxton Road Alsop En Le Dale, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, DE6 1NJ

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Thomas Perry

  • November 2016

Newton House Hotel

Stayed a couple of nights, mid week with a view to touring locally.

If using Sat-nav it takes you further down the road to Ashbourne if you are heading south, heading north it comes up short !. (info).We found the Hotel warm and welcoming, the room was clean with en-suite and TV etc, the Staff were very friendly and helpful. with special thanks to the manager(Sally). We had breakfast and evening meals on both days which were excellent and plenty, the breakfast set us up for the day. All in all a pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to any of our friends.

  • Edwin Crane

  • November 2016

Great value

Very pleased with our stay.

everyone very helpful and polite. Good food and clean room. will be back soon. Thank you.

  • Paul R

  • October 2016

Newton House Hotel

We booked a convenient spot so we could visit Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and the Museum of the Child at Sudbury.

All within about 30 minutes from this friendly little hotel. It is on a fairly busy road, but the double glazing means you just don't hear the traffic. Great cooked breakfast and a chatty night porter/barman.

  • Sandra F

  • October 2016

A nice place to stay

We enjoyed our mid-week break away to the Peak District and enjoyed staying at the Newton House Hotel.

There are only a couple of improvements I can think of and that would be it was cold in the room (no heating came on at all), there weren't many tea bags / sugar in the room and the breakfast isn't much but then when you're only paying £5, I suppose you can't expect much. Otherwise, the room was lovely and inviting. The staff were mostly pleasant, the hotel and grounds were really nice and it was really good value for money. It was a great base to go and visit sites and attractions.

  • Jeff H

  • September 2016

Newton House Hotel

Friendly staff ,food basic but good ,good selection for breakfast ,excellent value.

  • Alan Gilbert

  • September 2016

Weekend Break.

Upon arrival my wife and I received a lovely warm welcome from the Hotel staff members.

The room was clean and tidy, the meals and service were excellent. The Hotel its self is ideally situated between Ashbourne and Buxton. We shall return.

  • C Davis

  • August 2016

Clean, comfortable and very welcoming

Everyone at the hotel was very welcoming and friendly.

Nothing fancy but the room was clean with a comfortable bed and the food nicely prepared. The hotel is well-situated: right on the Tissington Trail and well-placed for Dovedale and the Peak District.

  • Maeve Kenny

  • July 2016

Saturday Stay

Comfortable beds, quiet with good cooked breakfast.

  • Andrew L

  • June 2016

lovely quirky hotel

A bit tired in places and quite dated but very clean and tidy.

Food is straight forward well made home cooked fair. Overall we really liked this hotel and found its quirky nature (breakfast 8 until 9, continental selection consists of Dairy Lea triangles) endearing. The four poster bed was good too.

  • A Dakin

  • April 2016

Newton House Hotel

House and room acceptable.

Breakfast timing a bit tight (8.00-9.00) if you've had a late night. Breakfast was poor with greasy egg and leathery precooked bacon, but the buffet food was acceptable. The road at the front of the house is very noisy from early in the morning, but look on the bright side - you won't miss breakfast!