You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Wishing Well

3

Oakney Wood Road, Selby, YO8 8LZ

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • brian p

  • October 2016

The Wishing Well

Central for birding week end easy reach for the coast, excellent food.

Comfortable.

  • Sally I

  • September 2016

Executive room but lacking basic features

The executive room was very large and clean, with an equally large bathroom.

But what a shame that although there were 2 huge wardrobes, only 1 of them had a hanging rail and this was only deep enough to hang a shirt. There were only 5 coat hangers. It was not possible to hang a dress in the wardrobe or a pair of trousers unless you wanted them folded in half. The wardrobes had huge drawers underneath the hanging space, but no full length space for clothing. The other wardrobe was just a cupboard without even a hanging rail. It was an executive room but had no trouser press. There was no phone in the room and no radio, only a tv. Both sofas had very bad wear and tear damage. It was all a bit odd. We had the restaurant meals on 2 of the 3 nights we stayed and both were of a good standard. It's a nice restaurant with a good "buzz" about it. Unfortunately, we had a room at the front of the hotel and road workers were laying tarmac on the A63, which runs right along the hotel's boundary fence, throughout 2 of the 3 nights we stayed. All in all, not the best experience. We travel to this part of Yorkshire regularly and normally stay in B&Bs' and next time we will go back to a B&B. Sorry.

  • Arthur P

  • June 2016

The Wishing Well

Standard good accommodation.

Staff very attentive.

  • Adrian B

  • November 2015

Wishing well

The room was poor quality for the price paid the TV had a high pitch screech, worst of all was the bathroom that was covered in mild and rust were it hadn't been touched with cleaning products in a long time.

For the price it was not up to standard. Breakfast came with no toast however that was a tan altered price due to my complaint.

  • D Richards

  • October 2015

No complaints and suited our purpose

  • C CHAPMAN

  • July 2015

Hotel Stay

Much to commend - from very friendly staff and good quality of rooms, which are also very spacious.

The only let downs were the limited choice and quality of food at breakfast. Some of chairs in restaurant area are also getting quite grubby and in need of cleaning/replacement.

  • Rachel E

  • April 2015

Very happy with our stay!!

We found the staff to be very pleasant, the room was clean and spacious.

We found the bed to be a little uncomfortable but I guess you'll never find a comfortable hotel bed. :)

  • Glennis B

  • April 2015

Enjoyable stay!

The only criticism was we had to wait a long time after our starter for our main meal, it was at least an 3/4 - 1 hour and we had to have a quiet word.

Otherwise it was a nice meal.

  • Pamela Dumas-Ekin

  • March 2015

Service and friendliness

The receptionist was very welcoming on my arrival.

The room was fine as it was on the second floor and looked out onto the car park. (previously I have been on the first floor overlooking a roof). The young lady in the bar was lovely and she happily went backwards and forwards to the kitchen to find out what foods would fit with my peculiar diet. When I left the hotel after two nights, I left a decorative stone behind. I phoned up the following day and the receptionist was very helpful. She said she would ring me back and she did. They had found the stone and would send it back to me free of charge. Excellent!

  • Mike C

  • March 2015

Selby hotels

On arrival there was no-one on reception and there was a queue forming before a receptionist came out to book us in.

The room was cramped as beside the large double bed there was a low single bed each side of it. The mattress was very uncomfortable as the buttons could easily be felt through the sheets. The toilet cistern made a deep groaning noise after flushing.