You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Eaton Hotel

3

277-279 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nigel H

  • August 2016

Ideal stay for the cricket

A cricket-watching friend recommended the Eaton Hotel after a mediocre experience nearby last year.

This is an area of the City with plentiful similar mid-range hotels, suitable for the traveller or short-stayer. I imagined there would be little to distinguish them all but I was wrong. The Eaton is excellent. It offers quality, value for money and style in a location ideal for the M5 (just a few miles away) and perfect for our purposes, a pleasant walk or short taxi to Edgbaston Cricket Ground. My room was ideal (if hot, but there was a fan supplied) and a highlight was the quality of the breakfasts served by cheery and efficient staff. I didn't have an evening meal there as the choice of excellent authentic restaurants on the door step is plentiful. This will be my choice for future visits.

  • A Skinner

  • July 2016

Eaton Hotel

very helpful on arrival , my wife is gluten intolerant and the staff were very good at breakfast.

  • L D

  • April 2016

Eaton Hotel

Lovely large room.

Meal in restaurant (set meal) was excellent and good value for money

  • Peter C

  • March 2016

Good value for the money

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here.

I have to say, far better value than the Travelodge down the road. I got a breakfast cooked to order in a very pleasant restaurant by very friendly staff. There was a good range of breakfast food and far nicer surroundings than the Travelodge which would have cost me more than this hotel as well.

Both rooms were good, particularly 121. Again, far nicer than the Travelodge. The rooms were clean and bathrooms good as well.

Very friendly staff

Free parking also handy but it's possible to park on the street around the corner for free to.

I have already booked my 3rd visit as I work in Birmingham once a month.

  • M Wilson

  • November 2015

One night stay

I booked this room for my student son so he could stay in the area of my friends house while we were visiting.

He slept so well on the bed I had to bang on the door to wake him up. The lady in reception was really friendly and helpful.

  • Mark W

  • November 2015

catch up visit

hotel was everything could ask for location perfect as we were visiting my partners daughter at uni so bang in the middle for there and a night out on broad street, reception very friendly and helpful, room spot on and for a hotel very well priced bar.all top0ped off with a cracking breakfast included in the price.

  • Adam Y

  • October 2015

Weekend to visit daughter at Uni

A really nice hotel with easy parking.

Not too far away from University of Birmingham - purpose was to catch up with daughter at Uni. Good room and super breakfast.

  • J Hardy

  • September 2015

2nd stay here.....but disappointed

I booked the Eaton for the 2nd time a year on from the first because I was impressed the first time.

Unfortunately this was not the case for my return. All was going well until around 11:30pm I heard some voices and a few loud noises coming from outside my room near the window. I got up out of bed to have a look through the curtains to find a man on a ladder with another man with him. This was literally 10 inches away from my window, needless to say it made me jump big time. I quickly closed the curtains and called reception to ask if they knew why I had 2 men right outside my window. I was then told, in a very polite manner that 'yes sir, tonight they are cleaning the kitchen ducting, which is right outside of your room'. I asked how long this would take and was given the response, 'not long usually sir, normally only around 4-5 hours'. Obviously I then asked why I wasn't told this on arrival to which I did receive an apology and also told this could not be done during the daytime as they use the kitchen. What about a night time, its a hotel, people come here to sleep.

I was called back just 30 minutes or so later to be told that they would be done outside of my room in around 20 minutes. Throughout the night I did still hear bangs and loud noises which ensured I did not get much rest at all. During check out I did state that I wasn't very happy and I didn't sleep very well at all, but I was still charged full price for my stay. I am very disappointed and would have liked an offer of some compensation for a terrible nights stay, whether part or full refund.

To cap it off, as I went to breakfast I had missed it by 6 minutes, so I had to leave hungry.

Hate moaning, but had to stress how this visit has made me feel. I would have contemplated staying here again next year and recommend it to anyone, but the fact it hasn't been smoothed over with any form of offer to rectify, unfortunately leaves me with bad feelings.

  • Marion B

  • September 2015

Great Location

Second stay at the Eaton having previously been put off by being over the loud function room.

Requested a quiet room and got one at the rear of the Hotel. Great location being on the Hagley Road, with easy access to the City Centre, with buses every 5 minutes. Ample parking at front and rear of Hotel which is great for a Hotel so near the City. Breakfast was mostly good with good choices. Only problem was that young waitress got my order wrong on both days, and by the time I got the extra items, they were cold. Also she served me burnt/black toast one morning. She didn't seemed bothered when I asked for some that was better. Reception were very friendly upon checking in, but not when leaving. Felt they didn't want to know whether quests were happy or not.

  • H Taylor

  • August 2015

Good hotel

We needed a hotel in this area so chanced it and didn't know what to expect.

We were very pleased. Good parking, attentive staff and quite a palatial interior. Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was pretty good. The hotel is also just a short walk down the road from a row of pretty decent restaurants.