You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

3

23-31 Oxford Road, Banbury, OX169AH

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (14)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Daniel J

  • November 2016

Entirely adequate

Decent hotel from a big chain.

Not especially cheap but reasonable value. Comfortable bed. Continental breakfast quite expensive, but cooked breakfast good, and reasonable value. Would have liked a teapot rather than just mugs and a kettle in the room -- and there's never enough milk -- but that's true of almost anywhere.

  • Helen R

  • August 2016

BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

On entering reception you are lulled into a false sense of security.

Can't say other than that the reception/bar and restaurant looked very modern, obviously newly refurbished, however the bedroom was a different story. Booked family room as have a young child, the ensuite was down a flight of stairs, not great for a young child if they need the bathroom in the middle of the night, wall paper was coming off the walls and the room was very dated in desperate need of updating, even just a coat of paint!!. Extremely disappointed for the money that was paid in my opinion it was not worth the money. We intend to visit Banbury again however we won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Rob C

  • August 2016

Excellent hotel and service!!

For what I paid, I couldn't quite believe how nice this hotel was….unbelievable value.

But more than that, the receptionist was exceptionally helpful….nothing was too much trouble (and I DID put her to the test with several slightly unusual requests!). All in all, highly, highly recommended!!

  • Paul Bailey

  • May 2016

Poor experience - hotel being refurbished

If I'd known this hotel would be covered in scaffolding, with all the public areas temporarily transferred to the basement, I wouldn't have booked it.

Staff were helpful and friendly, but it was not a pleasant experience. A large building site and a circuitous route to rooms via obvious "back stage" staff quarters... Room very ordinary - more like a cheap Guest House than a hotel. I think they should have closed during repairs, or made it very obvious that building work was occuring and adjusted prices accordingly. The price was extremely high for what I received.

  • Lisa B

  • December 2015

Nice hotel

Myself, my husband and young child stayed for one night.

The room was a good size and had really comfy beds. Didn't buy anything from their menu as it was really expensive.

It was a short walk to the town centre which was really handy when you've got a 2 year old. My only concern was that the windows were all locked in our room. If there had been a fire then that would have been very dangerous for us. Other than that, for the £70 we paid for the room was reasonable and I would stay here again.

  • C Dean

  • November 2015

Rooms are great but the staff are very rude

The accommodation was great but the reception staff were very rude and so was the maid in the morning, I didn't get to my room until late and she persisted on waking me up time after time so she could clean the room.

I will not return here as manners cost nothing and I received the worst customer experience I have ever had and I sleep in hotels at least four nights a week

  • D Pye

  • September 2015

Decent Hotel

Welll looked after by staff and night porter.

  • bob c

  • September 2015

room was poor noise from other rooms and from the street

  • ANGELA P

  • July 2015

Breakfast

A great hotel stayed here lots of times.

Room spot on.

However, the table at breakfast where we were asked to sit was dirty, marmalade and crumbs all over the cloth. The person seating us when we said we'll sit somewhere else just brushed the dirt off with their hands. Likewise so did the person in charge and it was left for next people. The cloth should have been changed. The breakfast itself was great.

  • Glen B

  • July 2015

Good Value Accommodation

I was surprised to find such good value so close to the town centre.

I was as to park close to the entrance (thank goodness as it was raining very hard) and the entrance area and reception desk presented a very up-market ambience. The room was smaller than the usual Travelodge or Premier Inn, but perfectly adequate and well-appointed and maintained. The bed was superbly comfortable (although some might find it s bit too soft). One small issue was the lack of a light over the bathroom mirror for shaving, which seemed a bit odd. I dined on the bar. While my fish and chips were very good, and bar was clean and smart, it did rather lack atmosphere. Had the rain eased off I would have walked into town to find something a bit more distinctive, but as it was still hammering down, I was grateful to dine in the hotel.