You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

4

Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland, Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (72)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Roberts

  • November 2016

Springs sticking out of mattress.

Noise from Christmas party went on until 1am pool was really cold someone told us furnace had broken 3 weeks earlier. Shower in the room was just a trickle

  • Rebecca E

  • November 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

Compared to last visit lots of issues with room.

broken chair, dirty walls and curtain, tap missing Cap, door stuck on floor hard to open. Breakfast great lovely food, staff friendly and helpful apart from night person who said they would replace broken chair and didn't.

  • MICHAEL H

  • November 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

Okay.

  • A Smith

  • October 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

My Wife and I stayed at the Sporting Lodge whenever we were in Middlesborough in the past the accommodation and food was of the highest standard.

But sadly it has been let down by the poor standard by the catering side, The evening meal of Mussels, and chicken Kiev left much to be desired. The mussels were Juvenile and should not have been landed let alone presented as a meal. chicken was over cooked and dry not what I expected. Breakfast had been on the hot plate for some time was dry, cold and overcooked not worth the £8.00 + not a good culinary experience.

  • S BAKER

  • September 2016

You pay for what you get!

This is my first time in a sporting lodge inn reception is strange being the entrance for the gym and hotel reception with two desk areas and looks a little bare, looks like it was trying to be something it is not or once was and the theme continued throughout.

Everywhere in the hotel is dated, thick glossed and chipped skirting and door frames, building looks like a old 70s office block, even had old metal window frames in room. Room was basic but clean, bed had terrible mattress, bathroom was too small, but room size was ok, with decent to size, and free no haste wifi in room. The gym was the best hotel gym I've been too (bit like pure gyms but not as good) although equipment aging a little, get the feeling it's a gym first and hotel second. Didn't use pool or sauna. Bar looked great but seating area and restaurant atmospheres are poor. With B&M bargain style fake leather dining chairs which when you sit on means your dining table us nearly under your chin (I'm not small). Meal was very nice I had king prawn starter, and ceased salad for main, which is first time it's never came with chicken probably not my fault for asking, but as I've stayed in hundreds of hotels I didn't think I had too. With a good dinner I thought this would be the case for breakfast but sadly not. Once again back on the sinking seats, limited hot selection with the main items available, and even smaller selection of cold/continental I.e croissant and bread. No fruit, yogurt etc. Hot breakfast was cold, bacon was hard and tough, hash browns burnt and tough, orrange juice was limited and ran out by 8am but the worst has to be the tomato sauce is like vinegar spicy sauce which I would think I would like but it is vile.

Overall my stay was ok for business overnight but hotel is disappointing because it has the possibility to be so much more, it needs a good overhaul and a look at other hotels quality. But for the price I paid it was worth it.

  • M Salomone

  • September 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

Very pleasant surroundings.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • t ford

  • May 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

Decor much improved from last visit.

Room was very pleasant.

  • vicki H

  • April 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

Room was basic but nice.

Bathroom wasn't very clean.

  • s rowley

  • April 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

Very enjoyable experience, staff are very friendly.

Not too much trouble.

  • paul brown

  • April 2016

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

We love coming to the Sporting Lodge.

Exceptional spa facilities and all included in a very reasonable price. Staff throughout are very helpful and friendly, ranging from the reception staff, to spa staff, to bar staff, right through to the hardworking cleaning staff. Where else can you stay in a quality hotel with great free spa access on a Saturday night, for the region of 40 pounds. I don't know of another hotel with all this at that price.