You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

4

Preston New Road,Samlesbury, Preston, PR5 0UJ

Price From 109.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Steve T

  • November 2016

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

I asked for a quiet room and got one with air-con/ventilation units outside, which started with a 'whump' and finished with a clatter every ten minutes through the night.

Was moved the next day without problem. Generally everything else good, except the loud music in the restaurant at breakfast and evening meal. I have said I would stay again because of location, but only if guaranteed a quiet room and dining.

  • John Townley

  • November 2016

Be careful of booking online

Out stay this time was ruined by the hotel's attempt to charge us £17:50 each for breakfast when we booked in at 11:30pm.

None of this was evident when we booked online. (We eventually drove to Clitheroe for breakfast although the staff in your dining room were good.)

  • Muhammad C

  • October 2016

Good value, clean, nice breakfast.

Staff were also very good.

  • C SINGH

  • October 2016

2 nights stay at Tickled Trout Hotel

Pleasant stay, the staff were polite and helpful, the breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and the hotel location was good (just off the M6 motorway) and positioned next to a river with outside seating by the river, unfortunately the weather was windy and wet so we did not get the chance to sit outdoors on this occasion.

The only thing I/we can complain about our room was not serviced after overnight stay adequately the next day (i.e. The bed was not made and no extra bath towels were left for a 2 persons stay which are normally located in the bedroom wardrobe).

  • Andrew S

  • September 2016

Stop over

  • Chris Metcalfe

  • August 2016

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Good hotel.

I would stay there again, friendly staff and good food.

  • Christine B

  • August 2016

Welcome Accommodation

Friendly staff, excellent dinner.

  • Dave Jackson

  • August 2016

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Nice stay.

  • Richard H

  • July 2016

Poor customer service, Scold hazard in Shower, Poor access to Hotel

Ok here goes...

Hotel is at Jn31 of the M6... which the person we phoned had to look-up even though they were actually based in the Hotel... because of the Road structure, while you can see the Hotel, you have to drive 2 miles to turn round and be safe to enter the hotel car park. Not a lot that you can do about the roads but perhaps a mention. Got to the Hotel about 11.30pm and the computers were down so there was quite a bit of faffing about but eventually got there. Not too bad a night's sleep, room was adequate except that the Shower was lethal... ran shower while not in it... scolding hot... turned down to the minimum and it failed to get much cooler, nearly gave up but it then got cold... so raised the temperature a little... still quite cold... so started to suffer the shower rather than enjoy. Soaped up and without any loss in power or adjustment it went to scolding hot while i was in it (not for long!)... ended up rinsing in the bath. Breakfast... note it is a continental breakfast that costs £19 more than room only on Laterooms but do be vigilant if looking at Mobile Web as it's not obvious... being a hotel and not a travelodge I would have expected a Full cooked breakfast but this is an additional £10 for the two of us... you know it was more the aggrevation than the cost... and I would have considered better hotels for a similar cost. Staff... hmmm... corridors are narrow but cleaning staff left trolleys almost blocking the corridor even though there were areas every so often where there trolleys could stand... good luck getting past them with a suitcase. In breakfast two staff walked directly in my path while I was walking back to my table from the buffet.. it was as though "I'm busy, don't get in my way"... what happened to customer is King and basic manners. As for checkout... disaster... 4 couples deep and one person servicing... not her fault but a management issue... I wanted to complain about the shower in our room so no one else gets scolded but we had waited 10mins (I had moved our luggage out the car in two goes and returned to find my wife in exactly the same position in the queue).... we couldn't wait... so I put the key and card on the desk and expressed everyone's opinion that they needed someone else to assist. It takes a lot to motivate me to write a review and individually the issues were not major (except the shower) but it was the culmination that aggrevaited me and spoilt our stay.

  • andrew s

  • July 2016

Brief business stay

Public areas much improved in recent years.

The evening meal and breakfast were both of acceptable quality and generally in line with what I would expect from this type of hotel (if rather expensive). Evening service was slow though, plus the red wine was too cold. Bedroom generally fine although shower cubicle could do with being freshened up (discoloured grout and sealant).