You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Angel Hotel

4

CASTLE STREET, CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (81)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • B Gill

  • January 2016

Angel Hotel Review

A nice hotel in a central location but quiet enough to seem much further away.

Ticked all the boxes for a city break

  • Richard Hawker

  • January 2016

Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

Excellent hotel.

  • Adrian Leclerc

  • January 2016

Angel Hotel

The hotel was very nice and neat, the bed was comfortable and the location is great.

Cardiff Castle is literally across the street which was nice and there are a bunch of pubs and shops surrounding the hotel as it is downtown. The only only things I didn't like were that parking and breakfast are not included in the price of the room.

  • Michael Bruce Williams

  • December 2015

Angel Hotel

An older hotel with plenty of old fashion character which will be obvious when you walk through the door.

Very clean and tidy with modern facilities and comfortable bedrooms. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice of food. Service at breakfast was efficient and friendly as were all the staff we met.

  • S Underwood

  • December 2015

welcoming and comfortable

The Angel was central to the city centre.

Which was perfect for us as we were attending a concert in St.David's Hall. The staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was up graded on arrival , it was spacious, clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was well presented and there was plenty of choice. We would recommend The Angel to anyone visiting Cardiff. ,

  • m wagstaff

  • December 2015

Christmas Shopping trip

We have stayed several times at The Royal and always had a large airy room despite the price we paid but the room we were given, 236, was not good enough.

It was a very small inadequate room, it was too warm so we had to have the window open which resulted in a very restless night due to the noise on the street. We tried the aircon but this was far too noisy and think it was blowing warm air

Room 236 should be used has a store room & not a guest accommodation.

  • I Combes

  • November 2015

A Letdown

The initial impression this hotel gives is great, with a magnificent lobby as you come in.

Sadly it is all downhill from there. Reception exudes a smug 'don't care' attitude and despite some fresh carpets and paint in the corridors, the rooms are tired and very, very dated. Huge cracks in the bathroom tiling and all the fittings are cheap and ancient. Bar was shabby with crisps ground into the carpet and though breakfast was in an attractive dining room the food itself was tasteless and left me feeling ill for the next two days. Could be so much better. The only pluses are great location, private car parking (though it is a tiny area with many spaces cordoned off - for staff use?) and quite a comfy bed.

  • Julie S

  • October 2015

Cardiff stay

Good choice for breakfast.

Food good. Staff gave a warm and friendly welcome. Room was nice, clean and modern but not sure why it was classed as a superior room. Bath board was chipped in places. Disappointed that no additional touches such as individual toiletries provided.

Hotel has a car park, which was good and charged - in line with others in Cardiff centre, but no direct entrance to hotel from the car park.

Location was great - with easy access to shops, castle, restaurants and pubs. Lovely park across from the hotel.

  • A MacBean

  • October 2015

Angel Hotel

Whilst the public areas are reasonably well maintained and smart the room I had (113) was very tired and in urgent need of modernisation.

It is just not up to today's standards. The tiles in the bathroom were broken and chipped, the air conditioning was not functioning (checked with reception and it seemed to be a longstanding hotel-wide problem) on a very hot day. This is a prestige hotel that does not live up to its reputation and I do not think that it is value for money. The fire alarm and evacuation at 03:30 has not prejudiced my view!

  • jonathan B

  • September 2015

fine. nice place.