You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

4

Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3DF

Price From 177.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ann B

  • November 2016

Lake side stay

Brilliant stay ,will definitely be back !

  • Barry Fry

  • November 2016

Our weekend stay

The first room was small and not a very nice shape.

My husband asked for a change and we were given another room which was far better than we were expecting. We used the pool which we enjoyed very much and the food at breakfast was very good. Lots of choice with the staff going the extra mile to make our stay very comfortable so a big thank you to all the staff who were working on that weekend 25th Nov to the 27th Nov.

  • Mark D

  • November 2016

Everything we needed

Room was clean and tidy, very good size.

Used the pool and health facilities which were great for what we needed, and couldn't have asked for anything else. Enjoyed the stay and will no doubt visit again.

  • Mike T

  • November 2016

A great spa break

Overpriced

  • simon l

  • August 2016

Our stay was good, however found the decor to be a little dated, and shabby in some areas.

Can get better value for money at other accommodation in Bowness. However ideal location as right in the centre of Bowness, and friendly service

  • RACHEL C

  • August 2016

Nice but hidden costs

Lovely hotel and we had a free upgrade, but you are charged £10 per night and £5 per day for parking

  • Stephen C

  • July 2016

Sadly too brief

The hotel has special significance for my partner and I ,having spent time there when we became a couple and staying there a couple of times in the three years since.

Unfortunately we only had time for a one night stay on this occasion but everything about the hotel still managed to give us a special experience . The staff were all very pleasant and professional ,the pool and spa facilities were excellent,the food was outstanding and the room,number 320, was the icing on the cake with a beautiful view across the lake. I look forward to spending many more occasions at this quality hotel after this latest experience.

  • Peter G

  • July 2016

General

Hotel and Staff were excellent .When we arrived decided to have a coffee in lounge as room not ready, we were early, but coffee machine not working do you only have one.

I think toast at breakfast should be served from kitchens as DIY toaster not very efficient only toasted one side at a time.Food overall and service were very good.

  • P Cross

  • June 2016

2 night break

We both enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Bowness.

The breakfasts were lovely. We were lucky to have the sunshine, so this was a bonus.

  • E Quayle

  • May 2016

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

It was the second time we have stayed here and it was everything we could have wanted, even down to little extra touches like the young pianist on the Saturday evening, he played all night and was really talented.

We really enjoyed his playing. The valet parking is excellent & I particularly enjoyed the quality and variety of choice of the continental breakfast as I personally don't favor a cooked breakfast, which was also available.