You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

4

Kinlochard The Trossachs,Aberfoyle,, Stirlingshire, FK8 3TL

Price From 132.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • s hindley

  • November 2016

over priced

the cost was very over priced at £152 per night and no breakfast i would not recommend this hotel

  • M Carson

  • October 2016

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

Hotel nicely decorated and in a beautiful location.

Our hotel room was ok if you like to be level with a car park. I was unsure if we got this room because we booked through Laterooms. We visited the spa and only the pool/sauna was in operation. The jacuzzi and steam room were not working. We ate in Rafters and the quality of the food was very poor. Portions for adults were small. The salmon fish cakes were more like round potato croquettes. The sticky toffee pudding was inedible and my spoon would not go through it. I returned it and all the Manager could say was that he would deduct it off the bill. Did he really think I would pay for something that could not be eaten !. We will definitely not go back to that hotel.

  • s mcdermott

  • April 2016

Great location and facilities but poor service

Beautiful hotel, beautiful location, great facilities but let down in standard of food and having to wait approx 45 mins each morning for breakfast.

Cold buffet breakfast very poor choices compared to other macdonald Hotels, seemed to have ran out of a number of food items we requested, wine list although giving a choice of about 10 wines only 2 were available. Had to wait around 20 mins in a queue to check out and just discovered I've been charged an additional 50 pounds on top of our bill which I've now queried and having to wait approx 7 days to find out if it will be refunded. I would stay again but perhaps avoid school hols as they obviously don't have the staff to cope.

  • Maureen McCann

  • February 2016

Excellent Stay

My husband and I have a very good experience we were welcomed to the hotel by a very pleasant young man called Daniel at reception I understand he is a new recruit he was outstanding I deliver customer service training and this young man is a fine example of excellent customer service, another good example was the young man from Hungary at the bar Friday afternoon sorry I did not catch your name excellent.

Pleasant stay would return

  • D inglis

  • February 2016

First Visit to Forrest Hills and Wont be the Last

Beautiful hotel in scenic surroundings.

The hotel itself is slightly out of Aberfoyle but the drive to the hotel is stunning. The family room we stayed in was spacious with great views. Great Leisure facilities and staff very helpful and friendly. I must give praise to Monika the Head Receptionist. My little girl took unwell on our last night and Monika was very helpful and considerate and made sure we and our daughter were well looked after. (Thankyou!!). Breakfast in the morning was set in the dining room looking over to Ben Lomond. With Blue sky and snow on the hills - you cant ask for anything better. Wiifi signal was not great but hey, it is a holiday after all and sometimes good to switch off from the real world. Loads of kids activities to do locally at Go Ape or up at Loch Katrine. First time stay, and hopefully be back again.

  • B Kennedy

  • October 2015

Family Man

Location second to none for scenery and peace and quiet.

Room was large enough for family of four, though extra beds perhaps a little small for our eldest.

Room and hotel comfortable and clean with decent bathroom.

Food is good. Family dining in Rafters had good choice and quality. Friendly service, if a little slow. Fine dining very enjoyable, good quality, beautiful room without being at all stuffy. I would agree with a fellow guest in that as much as I enjoy fine food, portion control is rather on the light side.

Leisure facilities great for the family, immaculately clean. It was a brilliant short break. My only negatives are food and drink pricing a little expensive, and Internet access while free is so poor it is not worth having. This may be partly due to location however it could be a real issue for some.

  • B Manning

  • August 2015

Great stay

Nice friendly hotel, clean with excellent facilities and good staff who were very helpful..

  • I Lawrie

  • August 2015

Would Not Recommend

After staying at various hotels in this area last week, we found this hotel to be the worst.

It was also not the cheapest, so we were looking for a high standard of service. Firstly, our room was not ready at check in time. Secondly, we found the food and drink expensive for what was offered

Thirdly, Breakfast the next day was a disaster, we arrived shortly after 0900am, ordered coffee and tea, we received the tea- no milk - no coffee

We were then invited to the buffet, no fruit juice left, no fruit left. Had to ask for this to be topped up, after half an hour no top up no coffee

Asked to speak to the manager, he apologised said they had 120 guests. 10 minutes later the juice was topped up still no coffee, no milk . Spoke with the duty manager about this problem, still waiting on her coming back to me. Fourthly- The fire alarm went off at 0430 in the morning- went outside the room to find out if was a false alarm-no one came to inform us what the situation was. Lastly at check out we were overcharged, it was Dinner,B&B, then had to fight my corner as they charged us for dinner despite being prepaid. There was also a language barrier with many of the staff

Overall not a good experience

Not Value for money

Would not recommend.

  • Lyndsay F

  • July 2015

Lovely setting,

Beautiful views and setting, room was a bit shabby for money we paid, breakfast was overpriced for what we got and my 3yr old wasn't offered anything!.

  • H Scott

  • July 2015

Good but over priced

Customer service was really good all helpful and friendly.

Rooms very clean and nice big bathroom. The hotel room was over priced, we were £170 for 1 nights stay including spa facilities and bed and breakfast. The spa was nice but probably cheaper paying separately. The breakfast was not very good the choice of cereal etc was good but the cooked breakfast was not worth the money, all the food was small portions and breakfast was poor quality.