You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Black Swan Hotel

3

The Black Swan Hotel, Market Place,, Leyburn, DL8 5AS

Price From 127.81 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (24)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ann Tofield

  • October 2016

The Black Swan Hotel

We enjoyed our stay here, everything fine.

Just two little tips, in the bathroom it could do with some hooks to hang towels near the shower, also a shelf near the basins to put toiletries and cosmetics.

  • Gerry Wilkinson

  • October 2016

The Black Swan Hotel

Visit to the area for a relation's naming day.

Long journey necessitated an overnight stay. All accommodation in the area seemed quite expensive, especially as it was pubs with a few rooms rather than hotels. Room was just adequate for one night, however it had a somewhat uncomfortable bed, no hair dryer, no toilet roll holder, no bathroom shelf, no toiletries etc., etc. Breakfast was, again, just about adequate served by a rather rude landlord, although possibly just a normal brusque Yorkshireman!

  • M Hall

  • September 2016

The Black Swan Hotel

Overnight Stopover.

Lovely little room, very friendly staff. Limited choice for evening meal, no cereals for breakfast (they may have been available but they weren't on show or offered) and no fresh coffee, only instant.

  • Peter J

  • September 2016

Ok for a night

Great location in market place of a quaint country town.

Accommodation jaded and in need of modernisation. Extremely noisy water system in bathroom and no shower. Breakfast very nice.

  • Rowena L

  • August 2016

Don't stay if you plan to be back after midnight

I was attending a local even and planned to be back at about 1:30am.

Unfortunately the doors are locked at midnight. This was not stated on the website and if I had know I would not have booked. I understand the reason to why this is this way but it needs to be know. Before booking. Also no card machine in the hotel so had to pay with cash on arrival. Car parking in the area is very hard if arriving while shops are open. The carpet I. The room has seen better days with corners being thread bare. I felt it was over priced considering all. Very disappointed

  • Tony C

  • August 2016

Very good value for money.

Read reviews prior to booking which were not all complementary.

Nice friendly environment and rooms were clean and tidy. It is what I would expect for the money we paid. Would definitely stay again.

  • IAIN T

  • August 2016

Lovely village - wonderful hotel - with character.

The Black Swan provided all that my wife and I required while away.

The food was good - the Jumbo fish is a must. Breakfast was also first class. The owner John is helpful and seems to be there most of the time and adresses issues as they are raised and is most helpful, The other staff we dealt with were polite and helpful and chatty without being overbearing.

  • Robert M

  • July 2016

Not the best

Room was small with very hard uncomfortable bed, able to feel springs.

The bathroom had obviously just been sealed as there was sealant all over the taps and when you stand in the bath the seals split. Breakfast looked nice, part way through eating found a piece of metal in the egg. When this was mentioned to the staff, the response was 'it wasn't there when it came out of the kitchen'

Wouldn't stay again, plenty of other places in leyburn and surrounding areas, just book early!

  • Tom P

  • July 2016

Very enjoyable stay

A little quirky but a very enjoyable stay, I was working locally and I felt the stay at the Black Swan was just right for my purposes.

Good food, good friendly company and a decent nights sleep.

  • H Smith

  • July 2016

Stay at the Black Swan

The Proprietor is very friendly, helpful and hard working with a good sense of humour.

The accommodation was good value for money and the home cooked Sunday lunch was excellent, and again good value for money. The room was quiet and the hotel was in a good central position with off road car parking always available right outside. An enjoyable stay.