You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Tollemache Arms

4

Tollemache Arms Chester Road, Tarporley, CW69JE

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S W

  • December 2016

Overnight in Tarporley

The accommodation suited our requirements and the only downside was that the shower was impossible to adjust - either too hot or too cold

  • Wayne Pearson

  • November 2016

Great

As others have said, the rooms are quite small but no complaints from us.

It served the purpose for an overnight stay and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Rod Ireland

  • October 2016

Tollemache Arms

Accommodation accessed by a steep staircase.

Not suitable for older or disabled .Tried to hold a bannister rail to find it was broken . And just put back in place without repair . The Standard Twin Room had room for one person at a time to get into bed both beds against the wall . No room at the foot of the bed to access.The kettle or plug for the hair dryer unless sat on bed . En suit tired . On our visit at one point only cold water and no heating to the room, staff were helpful. Accomadation shocking.

  • Rick H

  • October 2016

Tollemache Arms

Really good value for money and couldn't do enough for you.

Arrived about five-ish checked in in the bar and the waiter was very happy, a really nice guy and made you feel welcome. Went to room (room 1) which was quite small but big enough and had gorgeous views out the back. Wasn't anything plush but it wasn't pine furniture and flowery curtains and bedding which I can't stand. Bed was reasonably comfy and the bathroom small and pretty basic but again did the job. We had a few too many drinks and was late for breakfast and the waiter and chef could not have been anymore accommodating telling us no rush, take our time and whenever we were ready. The breakfast was good also. They then told us no rush to check out either which was really nice. The staff really make this place, so thank you. If you want somewhere that is good value, relaxed, good food and a lovely country pub give this place a go!

  • S Pennington

  • August 2016

A lovely one night stay

We recently stayed at the hotel and although the rooms were small they were adequate and well equip.

The staff were really friendly and could not do enough for you. Breakfast was fantastic. We would definitely stay again.

  • J Evans

  • July 2016

Small is not the word!

I have never stayed in a room so small.

It was designed for 2 people but there was not enough to room for both people to move about at the same time. The welcome was warm but they did attempt to charge us more than the Late Rooms confirmation.

The weather was exceedingly warm but no fan or air con was provided. Breakfast was another disaster. We were told that the Baker was on the way with the bread, however he didn't make it. Place has great potential but needs more organizing.

  • david c

  • July 2016

Tollemache Arms

Lovely room, staff are very friendly and helpful and food is delicious.

This is our second stay and we would definitely stay again next time we visit Cheshire.

  • N Hewson

  • July 2016

Tollemache Arms

Most excellent friendly staff.

  • Alan C

  • June 2016

Excellent staff and service let down by undersized and overpriced room

We spent 2 nights at the Tollemache Arms and would have checked out after the first night had we been able to find somewhere so late in the day.

We received a very warm welcome and every member of staff we encountered was very pleasant and helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

The main issue was with the accommodation. The room was tiny, cramped and tired. Hardly any room to move round the bed which shot off sideways when leant against.

The room could do with some better lighting to brighten it up a bit.

The tea tray was generous and we were given fresh milk on arrival - though we had to ask for some on second day as room hadn't been serviced when we returned in the evening.

Fresh clean towels were stored on a rail in the tiny toilet because there was nowhere to put them in the tiny shower room. Knees almost touched the door when sitting on toilet. We're not fans of having to go to another room to wash our hands after using the toilet and there was nowhere to hang a hand towel in the shower room. There was no extraction fan or air freshener in the toilet so any smells lingered for a long time and pervaded into the bedroom.

The shower was small but very powerful with good temperature control. I bruised my elbow on the door handle while drying myself because of the cramped space. Basin taps were difficult to turn with wet hands because they were so smooth. The floors were extremely creaky and we were woken at 5am by the creaky floorboards of another resident. The 'free wi-fi' fluctuated between very weak and non-existent which was really frustrating as we couldn't get a phone signal either. We'd like to have seen more choice at breakfast. It seemed to be full english or full english with no cereal or fruit/yoghurt available. I asked for jam for my toast to be told they'd run out and were waiting for some to be delivered!. Not being a fan of cooked breakfast, I requested toast and marmalade for the second morning and this was willingly provided. The cooked breakfast was plentiful and mainly tasty (especially the black pudding) but orange juice and sausages weren't to our liking and the egg yolks were tiny

We wouldn't choose to stay in such cramped conditions at any price so at £85 per night with limited breakfast menu, we felt the room was significantly overpriced. By comparison, we'd stayed in another local hotel the night before for £65, in an attractive, spacious room with excellent hot and cold breakfast menu and excellent customer service.

  • Martin W

  • June 2016

Good overnight accommodation

Very friendly, welcoming and helpful reception and service.

Room was "in the roof" and quite warm but the windows opened. Compact toilet and shower.