You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - 178 London Road Bed and Breakfast

3

178, London Road, St Albans, AL11PL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (31)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrew Cole

  • November 2016

cottage b&b

A small 2 twin bedroom cottage with all amenities , parking nearby ,shops and pubs .

The Host is helpful and the 24/7 continental breakfast is brill. fresh bread,milk and fruit daily replenished. Catered more for contractors in my opinion but clean warm and cosy house.

  • A Walsh

  • November 2016

178 London Road Bed and Breakfast

We booked to stay in what looked to be a beautiful Georgian townhouse for 1 night B & B.

As I booked I was informed we would be in an annex with continential breakfast. There was no obvious phone number to query further details. On arrival we were directed to alterntive accommodation a few streets away. This was in peak traffic, and after having spent some time finding and parking at the original accommodation, we were onward directed to a dingy, dirty, shabby 'apartment'.It was hard to tell how long the food had been in the kitchen for and it wasn't at all appealing. We had to pay unexpected car parking charges and get up for 7.30 the next morning to put fresh money in the meter. We read reviews of this accommodation overnight and discovered that this is not the first time people have felt misled. I think the owners should avoid the challenge of willfully misleading customers by showing pictures of the off -site accommodation. We would not have booked if we had seen it. Plus they should include their phone number so that future guests can clarify where they have been allocated to. I felt like I had been hoodwinked. A really disappointing stay.

  • Karen Key

  • November 2016

Wonderful B and B

Barry and Carol are an absolute lovely couple.

It was like home from home and they made you feel so welcome and comfortable.

  • Nick B

  • October 2016

As someone who works in the travel industry I book my hotel accommodation with care, seeking independent hotels or B&Bs if at all possible.

I booked through Late Rooms for a single room at this venue attracted by the reviews on Trip Advisor that spoke of the beautiful Georgian house and the delicious cooked breakfasts. The photos of the rooms and bathroom looked excellent. However a few days before I was due to arrive the owner called me to say that there was a issue with the single bedroom I had booked and asked if I would mind if he moved me to a self-contained flat nearby. I reluctantly agreed but on arrival was taken to a dingy terrace house nearby which I was told I was sharing with two other men. There was a small shared shower room and a shabby looking kitchen – more like student or workmens’ accommodation and clearly nothing like the standard of the B&B as advertised.

When I asked about what time I should go to the hotel for breakfast he pointed to a loaf of white bread and some Tupperware containers of cereals and told me that was all that was offer. He still asked for the sixty five pounds that the proper advertised accommodation would have cost. Reading other reviews it's clear this is not an isolated experience of being bumped off into inferior accommodation. I note that they “self-certify” as being three star accommodation. I cannot vouch for the main house as I never got to see inside but this place would be hard to scrape a one star.

Response from hotel

We are disappointed that the guest did not contact us before arrival to discuss this issue. Due to circumstances beyond our control he was offered alternative accommodation from that booked, which was explained to him by telephone 48 hours before the date. He could have cancelled then without any expense to himself. He opted to take what was offered and stayed, but could of course have contacted us to say that he wished to find somewhere else. He was most certainly not “bumped”.

However, as a gesture of goodwill we will refund the customer the amount of £15.00.

  • Robert Small

  • August 2016

Dissatisfied customer

First, my trip was neither business nor pleasure but an urgent 'errand of mercy' for my son who was seriously ill.

My wife booked the facility on line and was left with the clear impression that I would be staying at 178 London Road which looked admirable. On arriving I was immediately re-directed to another, much lesser facility, whilst the bed-room itself was clean and comfortable I was not at all happy with the shared bathroom facilities. The breakfast arrangements were far from being a full cooked breakfast - was just bread for toasting. Perhaps the most disconcerting aspect of my one night stay was that an occupant of another room snored all night. Whilst, of course,one cannot blame the owner for this, the fact that his bedroom was on the ground floor and my own room was on the first floor shows that there is a real lack of soundproofing or similar. One just does not expect to be kept awake for the best part of the night by someone snoring on another floor. I left the pre-arranged sum of £65.00 but in retrospect regret doing that as the value was in no way representative of that sum of money. I rang the owner the next morning to make him aware of my views on his facility. I would never suggest to anyone that they stay at 178, London Road as they might end up in this far lesser facility.

Response from hotel

First of all we are sorry that you were dissatisfied with his

accommodation, but that was what his wife had

inadvertently booked.

I do not have twin rooms in the B&B, and the Laterooms website makes it

quite clear that I have two types of accommodation. Normally if people

have booked the self-catering apartments they are perfectly happy with

everything and it is just the very few people who have not read it correctly

and are therefore disappointed that make complaints. There is plenty of

food for a continental breakfast provided, and I of course cannot provide a

cooked breakfast there.

I will however discuss with Laterooms whether I can sort out two totally

different headings for the various accommodations.

Kind regards,

Carol Nicol

  • G Steadman

  • August 2016

Awful

Be careful when booking a room with these people.

The main b&b is good with nice rooms and good breakfast. If you book an apartment down the road its small, fusty, tired, could be sharing with another couple sharing a bathroom not acceptable. Hated it isn't the word, didn't want to eat or use anything there as felt very clean. Breakfast was fruit in a bowl, cereal in Tupperware, used butter in fridge which is disgusting. Just couldn't wait to get out of there. It's rented out to workers in the week!!!!!

  • J Arrand

  • August 2016

Pay close attention to what you are booking

We were in a twin bed flat with a shared bathroom and kitchen, reminiscent of student digs.

If that is not what you're after and you're expecting a private bathroom and a cooked breakfast then check your booking confirmation to be sure that what you've actually booked is what you want.

Response from hotel

I have three types of accommodation I advertise on the LateRooms website, with a full description of each. If a customer cannot note the differences then I cannot be held responsible. The price differential should be a clue! Nowhere do I state that there are private bathrooms.

  • Tony J

  • August 2016

178 London Road Bed and Breakfast

Great B&B with very friendly owner.

Only issue fro me was that they don't take credit cards, which when on business is an issue not being able to pay by card. WorldPay and various others make it really easy to accept card payments these days!

  • Christophe Andevert

  • August 2016

Professional and sympatics

Nice house, so British.

An beautiful ambiance and incredible scramble eggs. They tried to help us in our project and it's the prouve about a big consideration. Thanks for all. Gabriella and Christophe

  • Lionel L

  • August 2016

Great stay

Really nice and beautiful property.

Very friendly and informative owner. Great breakfast.