You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3

Warren Road, Woodingdean,, Brighton, BN2 6BB

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (51)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • p hatter

  • April 2015

I gave the quality of room a 3 because there wasn't a shaver point for my husband and the only plug sockets were to far away from the dressing table to be able to sit and dry my hair.

it was very clean but cheap and cheerful.

  • Heather A

  • April 2015

Pleasantly surprised!

Spacious room cleaned to a good standard.

Comfortable, welcoming room with good natural light and lovely view to the sea. Food is typical pub fare and was plentiful and tasty Staff were very friendly and helpful. I have already booked again as I liked my room and having the pub/restaurant facilities available. It is also very convenient for the Nuffield hospital being on the same road. Some reviews state noise but I wasn't disturbed at all despite the road.

  • A Robinson

  • April 2015

not what was expected

Booked this hotel based on the photographs on the site, I booked the four poster ensuite room.

However, whilst the bed is definitely the one in the pictures the room bared no resemblance to the photos. The hotel is very noisy as it is over a busy pub, so it was not a relaxing weekend. It is tired and does not appear to be well-loved. I did not have the cooked breakfast, but my husband did and immediately regretted it - it was a constant reminder to his stomach all day.

I was taking part in Brighton marathon so had an early start on the Sunday which meant we would be away before breakfast was served, when I enquired whether we could have breakfast early on the Sunday I was informed they could only make us a sandwich the night before and leave it in a fridge down the hall. They did do this, but it left much to be desired. I would not stay here again, and will never book a hotel based on photographs again - also a warning should have flashed when we had to pay in full before we even made it to the room. Be warned before you commit to staying here!

  • p anderson

  • March 2015

friendly hotel

I found the staff helpful and friendly.

They took on board my disability and gave me an appropriate room. I would definitely use this hotel again when I visit family and friends in the area.

  • Helen R

  • February 2015

Decent room but very noisy

I stayed in a single room which I was told was away from the pub so quiet.

It was not quiet. I could hear punters talking and shouting all night, and the pub music was very loud. Don't stay here if you need an early night (like I did!).

  • Thomas F

  • February 2015

The Downs Hotel

Had a very nice stay at the downs hotel.

All they staff were very friendly and welcoming and would stay again. Great value for money as we were only staying the one night. Only issue with the caravan that we booked was that there wasnt much in the way of heating which was too much of a problem, until we came in early morning. But if this was sorted would have been an fantastic stay. Would reccomend to others.

  • M Li

  • February 2015

Good One Night Staay

Needed one night stop over for work.

Value for money.

  • P Baldwin

  • February 2015

Well run hotel

Lovely staff, great food and clean, warm comfortable stay, thank you everyone.

PB

  • Linda Yates

  • January 2015

The first room was cold as no heating so they gave me more blankets.

then the next day I ask to move to a room with working heater and they did. would not stay again.

  • Michael Brown

  • December 2014

The Downs Hotel

A very basic room.

Not worth £45. Headboard on bed banged every time you moved. Heating in room only warmed it(had to use my own fan heater). Wouldn't recommend it to anyone