You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Ritz Hotel

3

14-16 Grosvenor Street, Haymarket,, Edinburgh, EH12 5EG

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (22)

59% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Christa Bedwin

  • October 2016

Ritz Hotel

Fantastic, cozy, historic, delightful hotel.

Jonas at the bar of this hotel was so helpful and amazing with maps, finding us half-price parking compared to the other parkade, sorting out everything I needed sorted out. He and the other guy who held down the bar (maybe the others too but I didn't have a chance to check) memorized guests & room numbers, which blew me away too. The internet strength isn't all that strong, which was a bit tricky for a Skype call I had to make, but I really enjoyed this hotel otherwise. It's just gorgeous and friendly. Betty's bar is a nice place to hang out and chat to whoever's around in an evening and they make a great cup of tea with milk.

  • S Russell

  • September 2016

Lovely hotel for a city centre overnight stay

My son & his girlfriend came to stay as a birthday treat.

The central location was convenient for both business and rail links . Staff were friendly and flexible ( they woke 5 mins prior to checkout meaning they were running behind time) the hotel were understanding and no pressure was put on them to leave. The room was satisfactory with them enjoying the traditional feel and in particular the 4 poster bed

  • M Lawrence

  • August 2016

Ok for short stay

The staff were helpful and friendly.

The previous reviews were varied so I had a vision of what to expect and this was realistic. The hotel is old with very large high ceilinged rooms and a bit dated. So if city chic is what you are after then this probably isn't the place for you. Despite other reviews, we didn't have any flea bites, the towels were clean and the bedding. I don't make a habit of looking under pillow cases and sheets anyway wherever I stay, so can't comment on bed. The furniture is old but clean, carpets a bit stained but our room had cream so what do you expect. We were on the ground floor so the room was very dark so wouldn't really want to spend too much time in it but we wanted a cheap break to see the Edinburgh Fringe so weren't there all day. The room served it's purpose for us. We aren't too fussy so if you want perfect you wont like it. There was a safe, toiletries, tea tray from the olden days, quaint but worked. We had a complimentary basic breakfast which was a pleasant surprise to us. Filled a hole until lunch. Half an hour walk into the city but on bus tram line and convenient for airport. There's a bar. Its a dog friendly hotel and the foyer smelled a bit of dog and febreze. If you are looking for something special, or for a special occasion, our room wouldn't suit as rather gloomy even with lights on but the pictures of the other rooms look more inviting as they are brighter.

  • Duncan F

  • August 2016

Shabby, no longer chic

Maybe was once a "boutique hotel", more like a shabby guest house now.

I didn't get the room I had booked. Instead of a "luxury 4poster bed" I had 2 singles joined together whose mattresses had lost all semblance of life many years ago. Carpeting was awful, worn and marked. I was really disappointed. Breakfast is a very basic cold selection.

  • Aileen I

  • August 2016

Terrible

Booked for one night, expected room to be basic as room was a decent price given the Fringe was on but the place was awful.

There is an odour when you walk in the front door, paintwork is shoddy with nothing matching, furniture is very dated. Rooms are over three floors and the higher you go the worse it gets with wallpaper peeling off. We complained about the first room we were given due to the state of the bath and were given another room. This room had a clean bathroom but there was stains on the carpets, dust on the furniture and the beds were useless both single beds had damaged bases I think due to their age. on reporting this in the morning the lovely young man said sorry about this and that was it. I would never return here and would not recommend it.

  • Yvonne L

  • August 2016

Good location

This was the cheapest hotel we could find during festival time, all others were twice as much.

Not the hotel for a romantic weekend, but fine for myself and a friend who just needed a base with easy access to the centre. The hotel is very dated which we expected according to previous reviews. What was difficult to manage was the shower/bath- very temperamental either too hot/cold shower running when wanted the bath. We never mastered it. Beds very old and mattresses moved off the base, so if you are a restless sleeper expect to wake up on the floor. Having said all that the location was excellent very close to trams and rail station (5 min walk) and the young staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Piers Q

  • June 2016

Very good value

A very friendly welcome at this hotel, with all staff very willing to help.

The property itself is not in the first flush of youth, but has a definite period charm. The kettle in my room wasn't working, but was willingly swapped for one that did. For a hotel this close to the centre of Edinburgh, I consider this one very good value - btw, the price includes a continental breakfast, although this isn't mentioned on the LateRooms site (technical difficulties, apparently).

  • PEGGY F

  • June 2016

Ritz Hotel

This hotel is functional but in need of updating.

We would have preferred the option of an English breakfast. Very convenient for Haymarket Station.

  • melanie s

  • June 2016

Good location, quiet and friendly hotel

Lovely room and friendly, helpful staff.

Had a pleasant stay for 2 nights.in large double room and four poster bed. Hot shower was good and toiletries provided. A nice quiet base for a trip to Edinburgh. Near the station but no train noise. Comfortable bed and no noise at night. Breakfast on my own at 0700 - perfect!

  • Stephen B

  • April 2016

It's a cracker.

My favourite bar and hotel in Edinburgh.

I hope it never changes.