You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crossways Inn

4

Withy Road, West Huntspill ,, Highbridge, TA9 3RA

Price From 134.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (39)

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • c howard

  • September 2016

Nice hotel on first appearance but a few problems

The Hotel on arrival seemed very nice with a nice restaurant pub downstairs, I stayed 2 nights.

Unfortunately, the Hotel is not manned overnight and no one in attendance after 8pm until 7am (or 8am on a Sunday) so I missed breakfast on both days due to business in the area, worst thing was my room door did not lock when leaving the room and although proprietor thought it was repaired, on my return the second day, I tried the door and it was open still so all my belongings (and myself) were vulnerable on both nights and the full day of my stay, I had a door chain and being a single woman travelling on business was a bit unnerving to say the least, the bed was made but unfortunately the cleaner did not clean the room or coffee cups used or emptied the bin, just took towels out that had been used and left towels in that were not used which to me for a 4* rated Hotel was not good enough. I had money taken off my bill for the inconvenience of the room not being cleaned but was disappointed that breakfast was not earlier so I could not have any and that I had to delay leaving because no one was available for me to settle the bill when I wanted to leave, which made a 4 hour journey eventually 6 hours due to hitting traffic.

Response from hotel

Im sorry to hear that your recent stay wasn’t up to our usual standard. We offer a 2 hour period for breakfast from 7.30-9.30 during the week (from 8am on weekends), which is usually perfect for the majority of our customers. Had you advised us that you needed to leave early we could have of course sorted out the bill the evening before rather than you wait until 7am for someone to arrive again ready to set up for breakfast service. As we are a small business with only 8 rooms Im sure that you can appreciate that it wouldn’t be cost effective for us to employ a chef for much more than this length of time for such a small number of guests. It may be advisable to stay in one of the larger chain hotels with a considerably larger number of rooms so that you can have the extended service that you require. Regarding the cleaning, this is an area we are always complimented on and are very proud of. Your room was serviced but unfortunately one of your coffee cups had a stain on it that we couldn’t remove but it had been cleaned. We have since purchased new cups. Regarding the door lock the owner personally replaced the lock for you and had tested it and had thought that it was working fine. Im sorry that you had further problems with it which is why we discounted your room for you. The gesture of goodwill and apology was accepted by you so we had considered that the matter was resolved to mutual satisfaction. Leaving such a negative review after you accepted financial compensation feels a little unfair but we do take your comments on board.

  • Roz G

  • September 2016

Overnight stay

This was an overnight stay on route to Cornwall which was chosen due to it being close to the M5.

I suppose for an overnight stay it was a little more than I would normally/have preferred to pay but the room was nicely decorated and clean. Personally, I would probably find it a little small if I was to stay for several nights but that is more to do with me liking space. Although the accommodation is attached to the pub, I did not hear any noise from the bar and the bed was very comfy so I had a good night's sleep. Lovely breakfast in the morning to see me on my way to Cornwall.

  • J Wright

  • September 2016

Good room, confusing service arrangements

Good, clean, newly fitted room and excellent breakfast.

Personally not keen on tiny washbasins in the bathroom, which seems to be a trend these days, but that's just my preference. The only real niggle was that we were not told that the B&B operates as a separate business to the pub. When I wanted a bit more milk for a cup of tea in the evening, I asked in the pub downstairs but was politely refused - "nothing to do with us" they said. As we'd eaten in the pub that evening I found that particularly annoying. The real problem is, if you are short of anything, the people in the pub don't want to know and there isn't any obvious way to contact anyone who is running the B&B business, and that should be remedied. Subject to that, I'd happily stay again.

  • Stuart P

  • August 2016

Crossways Inn

Stop off on route to Cornwall was a lovely pub with good food and real ale.

Reasonably priced and a lovely atmosphere. Good start to our hols.

  • K Starr

  • August 2016

Excellent as always

We have stayed before and as always it does not disappoint.

The rooms are very nice with comfortable large beds and wonderful shower rooms with powerful showers. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. Since our last visit a separate B&B reception has been sited so you do not have to battle through the pub bar to book in, also a new breakfast area has been created on what was the pubs bowling alley which is beautifully done and although some cosmetic work still in progress was not an interference. Food very good both breakfast and meals in pub, be sure to prebook if visiting on the weekend as very busy fri and sat. All round good stay and will be back.

  • Rosemary E

  • July 2016

Excellent across the Board

Lovely room with a great ensuite, the shower was perfect.

All the staff were friendly, chatty and helpful. The pub itself was very busy lots of locals and therefore had a great atmosphere. The food in the evening was delicious with plenty of choice as was the breakfast the following morning. All in all could not fault and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Nigel Smith

  • June 2016

Great place to stay

Our 3rd stay, as usual friendly welcome, lovely room and splendid breakfast.

Love the underfloor heating in bathroom.

  • Michael Daniels

  • June 2016

Super place to stay

We stayed for a Friday night 1night stay on our way to Cornwall and absolutly loved it.

Checking in was easy and quick leaving more time to sample the bar. We had reserved a table for an evening meal as advised and could not fault the service or quality of our food. Spent the evening in the bar area and had a good friendly night.Our room was v good but special mention to the excellent shower. Breakfast next morning was very good. Would stay again for sure and would recommend the Crossways to friends or family. A big thank you to Shane and all his staff for starting our break off with such a pleasant experience

  • Jacqueline S

  • June 2016

Crossways Inn

Friendly country look pub.

B&b to the side of the pub but breakfast held in dining area of pub. Clean room with super large, comfy bed. Fantastic bathroom that looked new. Not bothered by noise from pub or busy A38 road outside. Pub and locals were really welcoming. Heard food is great but didn't have chance to sample it as going out to a party.

  • Nigel S

  • May 2016

Great place to stay

Lovely and clean room, friendly welcome.

Great breakfast, would thoroughly recommend if you need a somewhere near Somerset coast