You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3

LANSDOWN ROAD, BATH, BA1 5EH

Price From 151.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Laura Le Flocq

  • October 2016

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

We stayed in a superior room, which was very clean, very spacious and a very comfortable bed and excellent en suite bathroom.

Staff were so pleasant and helpful. Very good selection for breakfast. About a ten minute walk into the centre, and on site parking. A lovely hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Nazia Y

  • August 2016

Staff were absolutely pleasant.

Room was of satisfactory standards however the bath had yellow stain marks going around it. For how much we paid it could have been better I reflect back and feel I paid too much as the next day I stayed in London 5* & paid less.

  • Daniel P

  • July 2016

Good room, food not so.

The accomedation was generally good, the food was generally cheap (ingredients) and bad (quality).

We had the superior double, I was quite happy with the standard of the room. The patio opened directly into the car park so there was no privacy if you opened the patio door. The breakfast was a big disapointment to me, the bread was the nasty long life stuff that is very thin and tasteless. The cooked food was all made to the cheapest price. I had the full breakfast once and I didn't enjoy that. The second day I has the ham and eggs, that was better. All small portions. There was only watermelon as fruit for breakfast, they also had various cereals. The porrage was not the best either. The coffee tasted like weak instant served in some silver. My wife had lunch there and had in her words "a notnice caesar salad". The serving staff we are curtious and tried to be helpful.

  • S Evans

  • February 2016

Friendly staff in old fashioned hotel

The Lansdown is an impressive, historic building, crying out for a complete makeover into a very classy establishment, although then we wouldn't t be able to afford it.

It's very close to the centre, although the hill back home is not for the unfit, the bus costs £2.20. Our room was shabby, far too hot, with very creaky floors. The public rooms have been refurbished in a fussy, 3 star style. The East European staff are very friendly and helpful with excellent English. The breakfast had plentiful cereals and good porridge, but the cooked breakfast was poor quality ingredients, badly cooked.

  • Paul T

  • January 2016

Could be good

When checking in, the lady on reception couldn't have been more efficient and helpful...

I was behind an old couple who were dithering a little, she managed to get me checked in and dealt with them at the same time, so they were attended to without feeling pushed away and I was not held up, Impressed with that. The room was clean and generally the hotel was too - a little tired in places, but nothing bad,

The hotel though has a policy of leaving keys at reception when you go out. Wasn't a particular problem until we came back at 2200 after going out for the evening. the key was missing as staff had to go to our room due to "a fault with the smoke detector". Went up to the room and no staff there - staff then came up with the key. we lost trust with the security after that. The second night when we returned, the shower had been left running by the cleaner.. must have been for most of the day. Its bit unnerving to come into your room with the shower going, especially after missing keys the first night. The breakfast was hap-hazard. Staff were friendly enough but certainly dis-organised. The first morning we were asked if we had made a reservation for breakfast. that confused us but I think he meant booked breakfast, although we never had to confirm a room number. This was then followed by a bit of fawlty towers service (another couples overheard comment, not mine!) where we were overlooked initially then asked more than once for our order. We noticed another couple having to attract attention to get their order in as they were not attended to by anyone. The second morning was better - the different member of staff attending (day off the previous day?) had more of a grasp as to how to run a dining service. Breakfast itself was poor - clearly the cooked breakfast was pre-cooked and then re-heated or microwaved when needed... a fried egg we had had an extra 'skin' on it. The Poached egg I had was served cold. The staff are friendly enough and the hotel is clean - I was just disappointed that they were badly organised and the breakfast quality poor, I see a potentially excellent hotel let down by lack of attention to detail.

  • M Byrne

  • November 2015

View from a hill

Lovely old hotel at one of the highest points in Bath.

Not modern at all, but I love that. The staff were friendly, room was clean and comfortable. Gorgeous walk downhill to Bath, but of a struggle uphill to get back but only 4 pound in a taxi. The late check in 3.30 and early check out 10am would put me off for future but other than that no complaints.

  • John Parry

  • November 2015

Very good hotel staff very helpful

  • J Willard

  • October 2015

Lovely old building in wonderful position overlooking the beautiful city of Bath.

Full of character but in need of a bit of refurb. Steep hill, nice walk down. Convenient 15min bus service up hill or £4 taxi. All staff lovely.

  • A Pugh

  • October 2015

A wonderful hotel!

We stopped here for one night on our way home to North Wales following a wedding in Newquay.

What a wonderful hotel.....staff were pleasant and so helpful....our room was spotlessly clean and the walk to the town only took 10 mins (downhill) Of course, being such an old and listed building, parts were in need of freshening up....if you like a "boutique" type hotel then this would not be for you but we enjoyed our experience there very much.. Our first visit to Bath was a delight and the hotel allowed us to leave our car in their car park until late afternoon on our day of departure. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • M JENKINS

  • September 2015

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

The hotel was faultless and staff very friendly.

The problem we encountered on a two day short break was the actual communication from late rooms and the hotel. Having booked and paid through late rooms the night before, upon arrival we were again asked for our bank details and were charged full amount upon authorisation. Having arrived in the evening and spending a considerable amount of time at reception explaining that we had already paid for the accomodation, we further had to make contact on our mobile phone to late rooms to try to clear up the matter.. The following morning we had to speak to reception again followed by a trip to the to confirm that no further monies had been taken from our account. The hotel staff were not apparent of the procedure with late rooms with regards to payment. Therefore our 2 days short trip was mared by us having been constantly in touch with both hotel reception, late rooms and our bank. As you can appreciate our frustration and disappointment which should have been a pleasant short stay. Upon leaving the hotel and on instructions from our bank were given a written receipt to say that no futher money had been taken and the hotel were liaising with their head office. As stated the hotel was superb it was the booking in procedures between the hotel and late rooms were the problem, i believed that upon arrival at the hotel we only had to give our booking ref no, which was not the case. I would not want to go through this experience again with any hotel anywhere due to lack of communications.