You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Southern Cross

41-43 LANGLEY ROAD, WATFORD, WD17 4PP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (11)

36% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • P Parkes

  • November 2016

It's a room

possilbly not suitable for habitation.

  • Patrick Wilkinson

  • November 2016

The Southern Cross

Nice pub , arrived sent to a room what wasn't ready, was given another right away.

No kettle in room, had cup and coffee and sugar and base of kettle. Asked cleaner to tell someone when I went out Sunday morning .Shared toilets no toilet roll in on floor and room was the same as it was when I went out.

  • N Kruszelnicki

  • July 2016

Lovely staff, very tired rooms.

The staff were very helpful and the room was clean but that's pretty much where the good stuff ends.

The wallpaper was hanging off, the ceiling and walls were a nicotine yellow colour, the sink was cracked, it was all very tired and in desperate need of attention. There was shortage of toilet roll and hand-wash in the shared facility and only decaffeinated coffee available for the room. However it was cheap and close to where I needed to be so served a purpose.

  • Lee C

  • June 2016

Cheap and cheerful

Cheap and cheerful, not bad over all but could do with some work.

Great for the price.

  • Peter M

  • December 2015

Southern cross Watford

Very basic accommodation not very clean, bathrooms are very poor, windows In room were broken and could not be closed and the room was freezing, the booking in system on arrival was terrible, the only positive thing about the hotel is they have a good selection of food but they do not do breakfast

  • John T

  • November 2015

Mediocre damp hovel

Apart from the bar the whole place stank of damp.

The paint on the walls was peeling off in several places. The bed was very soft almost to the point that i wanted to sleep on the floor or in my car.

  • Robert T

  • July 2015

Good value for money,not too far from town centre

Happy with stay overall, shower needs some TLC & sjared toiilet.

  • Peter S

  • April 2015

The Southern Cross

Good location and better than I expected but would benefit from a little more TLC.

  • L Kitt

  • April 2015

Shambles

Where to start with this review.

the main points that should be taken from this review is the sheer lack of customer service from the "senior management" team. When I arrived at the hotel I was informed that they had overbooked and couldnt explain why given that I'd received 2 booking confirmations. Unfortunately the problem wasnt rectified by the help of anyone within the management team as the deputy manager was in the kitchen and couldnt come out as the chef had called in sick and the general manager was appartently "out and about" and wouldnt take my phone calls when asked if I could speak to him. In a nut shell the problem left me waiting for nearly 2 hours with the only solution to tell me to check into another hotel and pay for it myself as an alternative would be "too expensive" for them to compensate. The problem was then only resolved by a family that had made another booking for a twin room that wouldnt take 3 people due to insurance, leaving the poor family with a child no room at nearly 9pm. The hotel seemed somewhat pleased so they didnt have to deal with my booking anymore and could pass the room over. I then asked to speak to the general manager as I was nearly 2 hours waiting and found this unacceptable, which is when he refused to speak to me (whilst on the phone to the receptionist!!) as he was off duty and busy. Given that the deputy manager couldnt be bothered to tear herself away from the kitchen for 2 mins I think its the least she could have done. My room was not particularly clean but its the attitudes that need attention. However bar staff and receptionist (if not a little stressed) were as helpful as they could be.

  • Chris Poole

  • March 2015

Value for money.

If you are looking for value for money accomodation, then, this is for you.

Basic amenities, but, comfortable bed, free wifi, excellent food.