You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Collection Hotel Birmingham

3

263 Hagley Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NA

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (59)

41% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anu T

  • December 2016

Going downhill

I have stayed here many times before the previous bedrooms were excellent.

This time we stayed in 'new' room. It was so poorly made. The walls were not painted properly. The tv were in awkward place you are bound to bump your head on it as it was by toilet door and wardrobe. We could hear people wisper and walk outside our room. We cld hear our neighbour shower. I guess water was shared with the floor we stayed in because when i was showering the water stopped. Terrible. Never staying here again!

  • m evans

  • December 2016

Don't bother

Unwelcoming dark car park on arrival.

Check in staff seemed put out by my presence. All areas of the hotel seemed run down and a bit grubby. Room was disappointing. Bathroom sealant around bottom of bath needed replacing, soap dispenser empty, shower head filthy. Extractor fan hanging from wall. Stain on bed linen. £10 cooked breakfast probably one the worst ever experienced. Poor quality of food and ingredients with tepid coffee. Again staff at breakfast and check out seemed annoyed at my presence. Surprising as I appeared to be one of only a few guests at hotel: I won't be returning and wouldn't recommend you do either.

  • Harris P

  • December 2016

Disappointed

Apart from the check in lobby area, the rest of the hotel layout was a disappointment.

The room was a poorly arranged waste of space with the internal fittings shabbily done. Maintenance of the property was poor with an offensive odour in the footpath area. No elevators to my executive room, no WiFi, Bed was however very comfortable and afforded a good night's rest. Apart from the overt rudeness of the restaurant attendant the food was acceptable (the evening meal), though items for the breakfast seemed quite sparse.

  • M Collier

  • November 2016

Collection Hotel Birmingham

The worst bed I have ever slept in.

Small, felt like the springs had gone, loads of dips. One word, disgusting.

  • Paula K

  • November 2016

First room was a disgrace, second one was better...

When we first arrived at Collection Hotel it was lovely, had a nice little bar area and very clean.

The receptionist handed us our key card and told us our room was 1019, we headed to our room and we opened the door and the first thing you could smell was smoke, me and my partner do not smoke and hate the smell but we thought we could get over that. We walked in and the wallpaper had been peeled all on one side of the room and also had big black marks on the wall. We had paid £60 for this room and was not having it so my partner went and told the receptionist and she moved us rooms. He also asked if anyone had checked that room today which she replied yes.. No one should be allowed to stay in that room until it has been redecorated. Was not a great way to start off our stay.

  • J D

  • November 2016

Collection Hotel Birmingham

Not able to check in until after 3.30 as rooms were not ready.

Not the cleanest on places, toilet brush tatty and stain on the curtains, and marks on the walls. No food served on a Sunday so had to call a take away. No tea or coffee provided in room. However customer service was fab - young guy (don't know his name) was great!

  • S Hussain

  • November 2016

Overnight stay

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night on Monday evening.

The reception area was nice, neat and tidy. This ended here, as we went to our room we found the bathroom to be leaking, the toilet seat was broken and had dirty towels with stains left in our room. There were flies in the room, we tried to open the window which wouldn't open. The bed sheets were dirty, and had stains on the covers and cushions. None of the small lights were working in the room, and the tea/ coffee facilities were out of date. We went downstairs to complain and asked to change rooms, but was declined as the hotel was fully booked. I wouldn't stay here again, bad experience for the amount we paid to stay here for a night.

  • i hill

  • October 2016

very unclean

I have stayed at a lot of travelodges and b/b over the years but this accommodation looks upmarket but is very unclean!!.

All mould round the silicon round the bath. The mattress had totally collapsed on one side and the sheets were so grey they looked like they had been washed in the local river. Then to make the stay worst the walls must be made from tissue paper as we had an all night party going on in the rooms adjacent till 4 in the morning could not ring recrption to complain as the phone in room did not work

  • Dawn B

  • October 2016

Very happy with this as a budget stay

We were very happy with this as a budget stay; the staff were very accommodating and the room was comfortable and the bathroom was better than some hotels we have stayed in with a modern suite and shower.

For £55 a night on a Friday for two people we simply cannot complain. However if you are the type of person who expects perfection on everything, then maybe this is not the hotel for you. There was a light shade missing and a little peeling wallpaper behind the radiator but nothing to make our stay uncomfortable.

  • Jon Fleming

  • October 2016

One night at collection hotel Birmingham

£170 for one night at this hotel was way over priced.

The website shows a different hotel on the outside which was weird. Being on the ground floor there were workers making noise next door. The plumbing made noise which kept us awake. The shower head didn't stop dropping. I'll stop there.