You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - THE SORN INN

4

35 MAIN STREET, Sorn, By Mauchline, KA56HU

Price From 110.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jo M

  • November 2016

THE SORN INN

Lovely staff and food excellent

  • john corcoran

  • August 2016

ONE NIGHT AT THE SORN INN

We expected a basic pub bedroom with pub food.

What we got was an excellent room with some nice touches. Fresh milk in a fridge outside our room and quality coffee. The food was restaurant quality at pub prices. And the welcome was warm and genuine.

  • R Clark

  • August 2016

friendly

really nice friendly pub and room was excellent

would definitely go back for a meal when passing through Sorn/Ayrshire

  • John Stoddart

  • May 2016

THE SORN INN

Wonderful location, excellent service, food amazing, staff couldn't do enough for you.

  • Gaynor Wilkes

  • February 2016

Amazing hotel

We stayed here for a weekend,we couldn't have been more impressed,the room was amazing a huge comfy bed with good quality linen.The breakfast was excellent and the evening meal we had in the restaurant was the best I've had in the last ten years.would highly recommend 😊

  • Maureen Bancroft

  • November 2015

A wee gem

The second time we had stayed here.

Always a slight worry "going back". We were not disappointed. We had dinner this time and the food was first class. The Piper suite is excellent, very comfortable. Staff were very attentive. Craig goes that extra mile to make you feel welcome. We will definitely be back!

  • Chris H

  • August 2015

Quiet location. Clean and comfortable room. Good food

Convenient and quiet location in village centre, 5 mins from main A76.

Modern building with clean and comfortable room and easy parking. Good food and friendly service.

  • David M

  • July 2015

Over-rated

We were disappointed with our stay at the Sorn Inn.

We were influenced in our choice by the reviews it had - 4.6 -5 stars. That rating is very misleading. This is an old Inn in a small village. There was a stale smell of food about the place when we arrived. The room was fine although the bathroom was a bit dated. Both were very clean. I suspect most of the rating has come from the restaurant. However, my meal was extremely disappointing. I had ordered Organic Chicken Supreme, Lemon and Thyme Mousse, \parmesan Gnocchi and broccoli puree. The chicken came as three towers approx. 3 inches high and 1.5 inches diameter. These cylinders contained both the chicken and the mousse, so not much organic chicken there. I was expecting a chicken breast. Added to the plate, and presumably to fill it out were three pieces of oyster mushroom which were just like rubber and couldn't be cut never mind eaten. I was offered a complimentary tea or coffee as an apology but I didn't want either. When we paid out bill the next morning I had hoped that there might have been a small reduction. I commented on this and was promptly told that 12 other people had had the same meal and no one had complained. The breakfast was good except for the burned toast which should never have come out of the kitchen. It was obviously the leftover fancy bread from the night before. I'm afraid our stay at the Sorn Inn didn't quite live up to our expectations. . .

  • Robert J

  • June 2015

  • Maureen B

  • May 2015

What a find

This was a little gem.

We were staying away for three nights in Scotland, a little road trip. This looked beforehand to be the least favourable. How wrong were we. It was head and shoulders above the other two. We were very well received, gutted we had already eaten as the restaurant looked superb. Our room, no suite, was wonderful, very comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat. Loved all the artwork. Only slight drawback was going through the toilet corridor to access rooms. Not sure if anything could be done about that. Would definitely stay again if in the area.