Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
72% would recommend it to a friend
The Ferryman Inn
With its peaceful location on the riverbank (there's a clue in the name) this is a comfortable and homely pub serving good food and with comfortable accommodation.
We found our hosts to be very pleasant and helpful and the quality of the food was very good. The menu wasn't as full as it usually is as they were running stocks down prior to their own holiday but they let us know in plenty of time and there was still a good selection to choose from. All in all this proved a great location to spend a weekend in Oxfordshire and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.
Better than reviews suggested
Room was clean and bed was comfortable.
Decor and bathroom facilities need attention. Food was excellent. Staff were efficient.
Best place to be
Nice surrounding, nice accommodation, friendly owner.
Very very poor
Lovely location accommodation so-so
This could be a top notch place due to the location which was right next to the water, but there were too many disappointments to be able to recommend this pace.
The room itself was clean if rather tired and dated, but the bathroom was not good as mould stains were present on the ceiling and around the shower. I know this is not unusual but a lick of paint doesn't take long and improves the look. The whole place felt as if it was stuck in the 1980s. If you need to get out in good time in the morning beware as breakfast is not served until 8.30, and you cant checkout until 9am if you want to pay by card. Breakfast was a very basic"continental" affair with cereal and toast; cooked would have been at extra cost.
Overall this place promised much but didn't really deliver for me I'm afraid.
An excellent riverside inn
Our stop off at the Ferryman Inn was very enjoyable Our upstairs room looked over the river and was very clean and comfortable.
We had a very good evening meal and also breakfast. The staff were efficient and friendly
Noisy from bar below, poor customer service
Noise from bar music below very audible in the room.
Nobody in when we arrived mid-afternoon and had to wait in the car part for an hour in the car park before being able to get in. Breakfast not available until 08:30 unless you had the basic continental tray version. Owner disputed the price we had booked at and suggested we paid a higher rate (£10 more for the night), only conceding when we produced our booking email. An unfortunate experience given that the location is very nice
Response from hotel
Due to a miss understanding this couple did have to wait. We had a long distance
running event be held from the Ferryman Inn and we thought they would arrive
later with the runners as many others would.
The noise came from the people in the event they where part of, all noise
stopped at 11-30.
The misunderstanding about room price came about because they booked so early,
room prices had gone up by £10 per room, I asked to see the booking form and
allowed them to pay £65.
The male partner was entered in the run and had to leave early, very early, his
partner could have come down for breakfast at 8-00am but asked for a tray, on
the tray is fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals (a selection) fruit and tea and coffee
can be brewed in the room.
I feel most of the complaints arise from being kept waiting when they arrived, a
form of get you back. Please see other reviews.
The Ferryman Inn
Lovely small riverside hotel.
Wonderful view of the river from the room.
The extra for the full English breakfast was well worth paying.
Satisfactory for Cost
The room was a twin bedded en suite.
A window hinge was broken at the bottom and it was a hot night, but we risked opening it fully. The shower had no anti slip device, and as I have a damaged ankle that was a concern. They also had an issue with their card system which meant paying in cash. Luckily I had the cash on me, but it may have been a different story if I had not as we arrived by boat and it's difficult to drive one to the cash point!
Staff training needed in the dining area (evening) and redecoration at the entrance.
For the price, the evening meal was disappointing; the cooked breakfast (extra cost) was good. With a few tweaks, this could be a lovely place to stay as the river views and setting are very pleasant.