You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

3

Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA

Price From 118.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • anne carpenter

  • June 2016

This hotel is a gem

The hotel is amazing it is steeped in history and the location has to be one of the best in Canterbury.

it is quirky and like stepping back in time. great value for money, staff are so helpful and friendly.

  • William R

  • January 2016

Character

A lovely old style hotel fitted with crooked windows and beautiful beams on show although watch out if you're particularly tall as you may be hitting your head.

Situated right next to the cathedral there are some stunning views to be had and the cathedral lit up at night was a personal highlight. Staff are helpful although rarely at the desk. Overall a pleasant stay, expensive due to location but that should be expected.

  • ANIBAL G

  • January 2016

Excellent

  • William Clark

  • December 2015

Ancient charm

I loved my stay here.

This is a wonderfully crooked building, an 18 Century façade stuck onto a cruck framed timber building right next door to the Grade One gate to the Cathedral Close. It views are of the huddled streets of mediaeval Salisbury, with 18th Century facades and cobbled streets. To the rear is a magnificent view of the Cathedral itself. This is not for the disabled. You have to go up a flight of stairs to reception and the building is a rabbit warren of steps and corridors. If you are only mildly disabled, you will certainly feel fitter by the end. The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive and all seemed happy with their work, which says much about an hotel. The proprietors clearly enjoyed the place and meeting guests. The continental breakfast was very simple but satisfactory, although the cooked English breakfast smelt delicious. If you want breakfast in your room there is no additional charge. The building is owned by the Church commissioners and the furnishings are still traditional but fresh. So many hotels in historic buildings revamp in some horrendous Trans-Pacific style with no regard to the sense of time and history oozing from the beams and walls, nor, indeed, with any respect for local architecture and design. This little hotel once again avoids this mistake. It is a major plus that in the small bar, Italian opera was played quietly in the back ground as opposed to the junk music played universally these days in other places. This is, of course, three star, and my single room was simple but the bed very comfortable. Not all rooms have bathrooms or loo. There was no need for over-decoration as the ceiling was a maze of beams and the view of the small square and monument outside was charming, and the absence of much road traffic made one feel one was back in pre-war Britain. Naturally such modernity as there is has been imposed by regulation: The fire screens and fire extinguishers do their worst as they do in most hotels. I do not usually spend much money on accommodation if I am working away, but this was a really enjoyable stay compared to other hotels and I would definitely return.

  • sandra q

  • December 2015

One night stay

This place is very nice, convenient location, super clean and the staff very helpful and nice.

After having stayed in various accommodation in Canterbury, this one is definitely one of the best quality/price wise.

  • Elizabeth B

  • November 2015

Great central location

Lovely stay.

Historic building with lots of character (sloping floors and crooked windows). Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good shower and comfortable bed.

  • Tessa W

  • November 2015

Lovely Hotel right in had heart of Canterbury

We had a lovely stay at the Cathedral Gate, efficient service and helpful staff, bags taken up to rooms etc.

The room was spotless as were the lounges where you could have free tea or coffee overlooking the Cathedral. Lovely comfy bed and nice shower, although this did go hot and cold which was annoying. Only down side was the noise of the streets outside but the hotel thoughtfully provide earplugs which got rid of the problem. All in all, a great hotel for a mini break in this fab city!

  • M Sienkiewicz

  • October 2015

Brilliant

Hotel situated in city centre next to Canterbury Cathedral.

They provide excellent service for great value.

  • andrew f

  • October 2015

Great gate hotel experience

Good central location.

Great character hotel.

  • Anne H

  • September 2015

Great stay

This was a great experience.

I was delighted with my room - small, yet cosy. I had chosen the option with shared facilities in corridor but this was no issue as the bathroom was immaculate. The hosts were helpful and welcoming, and the lady showed me round the hotel. Such a quaint building. I particularly liked the little sitting room that overlooks the cathedral. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very attentive and efficient.

I did recommend the hotel to all the people on my course.