You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Pack Horse

The Pack Horse, 1 Plymouth Road,, South Brent, TQ10 9BH

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jonathan G

  • November 2016

Friendly place

Straightforward pub accommodation with good food and a pleasant atmosphere

Initial confusion over payment was swiftly dealt with by Steve so thanks

  • MICHAEL W

  • October 2016

Hotel Booking

Nice location and Parking facility in South Brent.

Room modernised and pleasant with a good bed and mattress. Actual entrance, Restaurant and Bar needs modernising which I believe will be happening. Breakfast excellent and pleasant staff.

  • chris w

  • October 2016

pack horse

  • Bob Smith

  • August 2016

Some good, some not so good.

Pluses.

Free parking, quite good Wifi, lovely people, both employees and the locals in the bar, full English breakfast, short but good lunch & dinner menu, places to visit within easy distance; if not easy roads, just a very laid back, pleasant place to be. Minuses. We had to leave a note to get fresh towels etc. and anything we didn't put in the note we didn't get, like shampoo. We stayed a week, (and enjoyed it immensely) but the room wasn't hoovered, nor the bedding changed, nor anything changed unless we specifically asked. Conclusion. The pluses were way ahead of the minuses. We would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Helen P

  • May 2016

Friendly, welcoming accomodation

A really friendly place to stay.

Welcoming, amazing and freshly cooked breakfast. Big clean rooms, fabulous shower. Would definitely stay again.

  • jENNIFER b

  • May 2016

A night in an old village pub..

Excellent value for money.

Old pub. Atmospheric & traditional. Looks a bit dull on outside but bright comfortable room with all that is needed. Food good chef very willing to please.Definitely recommend.

  • Ian H

  • April 2016

A Real Gem

Good food, clean accomodation, comfortable bed and friendly staff/ landlord.

  • Richard Elliott

  • February 2016

overindulgent

The beer was good and the open fire inviting non of the paper had been read so I sat at an empty table by the fire and past an hour or two.

My wife had gone to explore this old market town. The evening meal was wholesome but still managed it but this time washed down with No10. The music was loud but by this time l was sublime. We had the king size room looking out over the back towards the hills. It was large and the bathroom was OK with a large bath to get lost in. The breakfast was all you could need and freshly cooked and locally sourced. Latter I managed to drive home but now contently travelling at a snails pace. The weather yes it rained all the time.

  • chris b

  • January 2016

Good breakfast-little else to compliment this place!!

This pub is a drab and dreary place which needs updating but so does South Brent.The room was adequate and the bed comfortable but the rip in the curtain,the tatty sash windows to one side,the dangerous quality of the shower which ran scalding then cold,the wash basin which was loose on the wall and the disgraceful damp in the side wall behind the sink made us decide that one night was enough.

There is no eating area apart from the bar itself with three or four tables to one side of the fireplace. However the freshly cooked breakfast was very good.

  • Stephen W

  • August 2015

The Pack Horse

This was our 2nd stay at The Pack Horse and we had the same room as last year which as a lovely view of the Dartmoor hills, Room was spacious and clean, a good variety of cereals and fresh fruit was available for breakfast, and the full English was excellent.

Thanks to the proprietor's for another very enjoyable stay.