You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3

DUKE STREET, Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (151)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Juliet B

  • February 2017

Ok hotel. Suited our needs

Clean, but as per previous reviews in need of updating and a lick of paint.

clock could be quite annoying if you are a light sleeper as it chimes every 15mins and longer on every hour. Italian restaurant downstairs serve excellent food and really good value.

  • Leanne A

  • February 2017

Excellent value for money

Don't be put off by entry to the hotel!.

Yes, it's a little shabby. But we found our room to be clean and comfortable, with a flat screen TV. Decent shower, and we had a great breakfast. The staff were really friendly and went the extra mile. Ideal location for South Lakes Zoo, about 15 min drive away.

  • D Buckley

  • January 2017

Short break

Room fine, just fine.

  • M Peciulis

  • January 2017

Good value, though refurbishment is needed

We like to stay in this place, as we always get really good price for double / triple room, comparing with almost all other hotels and even b&b's in the area.

The bedding and towels are always spotlessly clean, though an odd cobweb or a layer of dust could be found in deep corners and behind the curtains. The hotel itself feels more and more tired every time we come, and the elevator is not working forever, so more improvements are needed in the nearest future, otherwise this place will be worn down to a level of a cheap guest house. Overall, still our favourite hotel in Barrow.

  • W Leyden

  • December 2016

Hotel Majestic

Hotel was clean and the room was a good size.

The carpet was a little old but overall the hotel was great.

  • Lindsay W

  • December 2016

Hotel Majestic

The Majestic is now looking tired and in need of refurbishment in some areas.

Our room was huge and could easily taken a larger double bed. The bed we had seemed small and wasn't very comfortable. Some of the woodwork in the bathroom looked warn and shabby and the towel rail had clearly come off and not been replaced. These upgrades shouldn't require much effort. The breakfasts are not as large as they used to be, although still perfectly adequate. All that said, we still regard it as excellent value for money.

  • P Watts

  • December 2016

Hotel stay

We arrived at the Majestic and welcomed .

Our room was small but clean and tidy. Unfortunately later on in the evening there was noise coming from our back wall from an air conditioning unit . it was very loud. We took the decision to ask for another room as we could not sleep with the noise. We were moved to another room at the front which was nice . Result.... nights sleep. The breakfasts were very good and served with a smile . Nice staff. The lift is still out of order though so if you are disabled , this is not the hotel for you . Overall a good hotel will stay again .

  • carol ann smith

  • November 2016

99

Very good for price.

The only thing have to say, we're on top floor and lift was out of order but did enjoy our stay.It's about four times we've stayed here and would come back again.staff are lovely too.

  • Janet Love

  • November 2016

Great value for money!

Great value for £35 single room, plenty of room, clean and quiet.

Good breakfast and welcoming staff. May be pillows needs replaced bit lumpy, but overall will visit again on business.

  • M Holmes

  • November 2016

Hotel Majestic

£50 a night with breakfast, you get what you pay for, Hotel Majestic is clean and comfortable.

Decor in general quite dated from the point of view that it needs a refresh, paint flaking off the wall above the radiator and room a bit tired, walls are thin could hear next door coughing and their TV, damage showing on TV cabinet and plasterboard on one of the walls, main carpet on the stairs up to the rooms is tatty and threadbare in places, I was on the 3rd flood so if you don't like stairs request a 1st or second floor room as quite a trek as the lift doesn't work, especially if you leave something you need in your room, having said that, this is just cosmetic really and it has a lot going for it, it's clean, quiet, helpful and friendly staff, strong WiFi throughout the hotel, my room was cleaned daily too, it benefits from Francesca's restaurant attached to the hotel so convenient for evening meal and reasonable price wise, eveining food average to good, not great but the breakfast was very good (I suppose it will depend on what you like)Location is great for town, shops etc & Morrisons in walking distance if you need anything, the car park is right next to the hotel which is handy although in the evening you may struggle to park especially if you have a larger vehicle as the restaurant gets busy, so get parked as soon as you can. Overall I'd give it a 6/10 would happily stay again for business as price for what you get is very fair for a clean, quiet convenient place to get your head down plus restaurant convenience and good WiFi to work with if you need it. Wouldn't stay for a "romantic break" but for business in the week for lads/girls weekend its perfect, will stay again the next time I head to Barrow. Thanks you for a pleasant stay.