You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Lamb and Flag Barn

4

Boroughbridge Road Bishop Monkton, Harrogate, HG3 3QN

Price From 119.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Della Rowe

  • November 2016

Unusual

I booked this room on line at £70.

On reaching the pub we couldn't find anyone so looked online for the phone number and a deal came up at £65. Gets worse... the blurb in the room says rooms "from £50". We had the smallest room - my fiance's shins bear testament to this as he bashed them each time he had to shimmy past the bed. Roughly a 12" gap. So I am guessing we should have been in the "£50" room but the landlady quite happily took our £140. And why wouldn't she. We had after all booked on line. So buyer beware - there are better deals than through late rooms - clearly. So no real complaint with the Lamb and Flag - more the late rooms increment. The fridge was indeed very well stocked with breakfast foods. Problem is that there is nowhere to actually be able to eat the breakfast other than sitting in bed. Worse things can happen however. Immaculately clean bathroom/bedroom. Think a set of smaller furniture would be a good idea though, even better, raise the bed up on a mezzanine floor - lots of space upwards, but not so much at floor level. Felt claustrophic.

  • Annette R

  • September 2016

Lucky Find

This place was a great surprise.

Rooked away in Bishop Thornton, this quirky pub with a barn covered with ensuite rooms, was lovely and clean, sold great ale and butter in the pub and Trevor and carol couldn't do enough for you. What a friendly, lovely couple, who seem to do it all by themselves. We didn't eat in the pub, but the continental breakfast in your room was lovely and a very well stocked tea and coffee tray. The pictures on late rooms website don't do it justice, very clean and well converted barn accommodation.

  • Liz S

  • July 2016

A gem of a place!

Me and my colleague stayed here for 3 nights whilst exhibiting at the Great Yorkshire Show.

A very easy and pleasant 20 minute journey in and out of Harrogate. A lovely quiet village pub with accomodation in a separate annexe. Plenty of parking on site. Our room was clean and comfortable with a spacious bathroom - very unusual at B&B's - you ususally find a tiny shower cubicle and toilet have been shoe-horned into a corner of the bedroom. It was a real bonus to be able to relax in a hot bath after a 14 hour day mostly standing up at the show.

A warm and friendly welcome from the owners and excellent home cooked food - enormous portions and very reasonable prices. My colleague had the gammon 2 nights running as she said it was the best she had ever tasted. Breakfast is continental and you help yourself from the well-stocked fridge in your room. This arrangement worked perfectly for us as we were up and out by 6.30 am each morning. It was lovely to have fresh milk for tea and coffee whenever we needed it. There's also a toaster so your toast is hot and not soggy from having been made a while. There was more than enough food for us to make a sandwich to take for our lunch (cheese, ham, hard-boiled eggs and even smoked salmon. ) which was a godsend for us as we were very busy all day. Thoroughly recommended. We will be back next year.

  • A Kerr

  • September 2015

Lamb and Flag Barn

Little for someone with coeliac disease to eat as gluten free food needed.

They had been informed on the booking form

Response from hotel

I can only apologise for not picking up on the booking form a request for gluten free food.

But I would like to say had the Guest mentioned the dietary needs when asked the first evening of there stay if they had everything they needed it would have been a different story, we would have made sure they were catered for.

  • Kenneth L

  • September 2015

Lovely Overnight Stay

Stayed here for only one night.

Unfortunately we could not stay longer due to circumstances at home. Lovely comfortable room. Hosts were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental left in room and was more than expected. Well presented and kept fresh in refrigerator in room.

All in all a very pleasant stay just wish we had longer.

  • Yvonne M

  • September 2015

Bank holiday break

Very pleasant village to relax in in the evening after exploring the dales.Two very nice pubs in the village both serving food.

  • Andy M

  • August 2015

A quiet and peaceful part of Yorkshire

A very relaxed short break for us and an ideal location for exploring places such as Harrogate and Ripon.

The Lamb and Flag is situated in a quiet rural village quite near to Ripon and offers excellent accommodation situated at the rear of the pub with ample car parking. The pub itself offers delicious home cooked food and a select range of Yorkshire Ales (my Favourite was the Timothy Taylor Best, never seen it down South) Accommodation units are on one level and the conversions from a disused barn are to a high standard and comfortable. What really nailed it for me was the Breakfast left in the small fridge each day. The food was excellent and it is the first time either of us have experienced this idea and hopefully it won't be the last. Not only delicious and plentiful food but the flexibility the concept offers. So often we stay away for a break and skip the regimented "British" sit down between 7am to 9am breakfast so this was refreshing being able to rise when we wanted to and help ourselves, after all we were on Holiday. Overall would highly recommend the Lamb and Flag and we would stay there again in the future. Thank you to the owners for a relaxed and trouble free stay, Andy and Michelle.

  • Tony p

  • August 2015

A Weekend Away

The accomodation was excellent; breakfast in the room, in the fridge with a superb choice of food.

Suited us because we got a quick start and no fries. Delightful local pub, very friendly. Great value. The village is delightful and all the locals speak. We are going back!

  • Martin Bell

  • July 2015

Very Pleasant

Clean,comfortable and thoughtful.

Very nice people. We would be happy to stay there again

  • Allan R

  • July 2015

Lovely accommodation in pretty village!

We stayed in one of 3 small suites in a barn conversion behind the pub.

Ours had an outside patio looking out to the car park, lovely to have breakfast in the sun. The village is beautiful and the pub is a typical village pub. The hosts and landlords are very friendly and helpful and we had a lovely meal at a reasonable price. The accommodation was lovely, beams and a king size bed, shower room, fridge, kettle, toaster etc. The continental breakfast is left in your fridge to enjoy at leisure. The only bad point was a very mouldy blind in the shower room, needs replacing, 9/10. Would stay again.