You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Smiths Court

3

21-27 Eastern Esplanade Cliftonville, Margate, CT9 2HL

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • H Magill

  • September 2016

Amazing views, horrible accommodation

The view was incredible and the location is good and Our bed was comfortable.

However, the room was in major need of updating it looked nothing like the pictures on the website. The walls were scuffed, there were spilt tea stains on the radiator, the wardrobe was full of dust, the carpets had thick dust all around the edges. There was a distinct lack of attention to detail. The bathroom was tiny and smelt. I asked the staff to take a look but no one got back to me about it and it still smelt when we returned so I presume no one did anything about it. In the morning the water pressure was terrible and the water got hotter and colder constantly. Although Margate is known for its rustic charm this was like staying in bad student accommodation twenty years ago.

  • D Phillips

  • August 2016

Comfortable Hotel

Friendly and helpful staff.

Comfortable room. Nice breakfast.

  • K Ward

  • August 2016

Room for improvement

Great room with nice view, apart from pigeons nesting on ledges outside and piles of droppings on window sills.

No restaurant available on Sunday evenings at breakfast only one person to serve all the guests breakfast which was very poor, one rasher of crisp bacon and no green tea.

  • J Kenyon

  • August 2016

Visit

Hotel dated looking shabby in places needs decorating and repainting throughout.My room needed re vamping,modernising

  • Michael C

  • July 2016

No internet and inadequate breakast service

If internet connectivity is important to you, stay somewhere else.

At no point throughout my 2 night stay did I manage to get internet connectivity on either a tablet or a laptop. Although able to connect to the wifi router in my 2nd floor room, the router was not connected to the internet. And I failed to connect at all to the ground floor router by reception. As a IT Consultant myself, from what I observed the technical setup of the network was poor and would be prone to failure. The reception staff seemed uninterested in my complaints, and were unwilling to even acknowledge their might be a problem. To advertise "free wifi" then to shrug their shoulders when a customer complains its not working is not on. The cooked breakfast options are cooked to order, and to be fair are excellent. However there appears to be only one chef. Consequently the coffee and toast is stone cold by the time the cooked breakfast appears some 30 to 40 minutes after the coffee and toast. The room whilst clean and adequate had several annoying features - an internal self closing door, no curtains just a translucent office style vertical blind, and no obvious way of tuning on the extractor fan in the (internal) bathroom.

  • A Rolle

  • June 2016

Smiths Court

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Accommodation was clean, nicely decorated and great size bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast was freshly made with local produce. The only negative is this part of town not so nice, public areas, beach etc scattered with litter and tatty. Parking at hotel was plentiful and free.

  • Linda Jordan

  • June 2016

Great Value

The hotel was incredible value for money.

Hard to find as the only name is a scrappy piece of paper taped to the front door. The room was very large with a good seaview. Clean but a very unpleasant smell of drains in the bathroom. Which i did report but wasn't resolved. Tv wasn't working again reported and was resolved. Breakfast was only meal taken very good apart from the sausages. Staff may not be that overly professional in manner however very, very helpful.

  • G Marshall

  • June 2016

Good service, value for money

Stayed two nights.

It was always easy to park in front of the hotel, which is only separated from the sea by a small park/square. Room was comfy and service was good, in particular at the restaurant.

  • E Kearney

  • May 2016

Fablous Dog Friendly

Fablous suite, we were in Woodford Suite as we had our dog.

Seperate access with own front door. Fantastic for people who want to treat their furbaby to a day on the neach.

  • Marina S

  • May 2016

good value for money and good breakfast

We enjoyed our one night stay for my partner's birthday i upgraded to the executive suite for £15.00 over the phone a few weeks prior to arrival.

i rated it with a 5m and not a 6 as a couple of minor points, the room number 24, on entry it was noticeable that the sheets were not ironed or pressed. Bed was comfortable. Being that this was an executive suite, furniture and carpet was a little tired. The orangy was beautiful, the food, good quality, hot on arrival. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.