Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
68% would recommend it to a friend
Stay away from this hotel, it is absolutely awful!!.
Needs a lot of work done to it
I booked a room for a company Xmas party.
What a tired room - the side of the bath had been kicked in, there was no toilet roll holder and the veneer was peeling off the cupboard. Other than that it was ok
Room was small cramped and dark, windows were broken, the room was noisy, no heating in the bathroom.
Bed side light never worked. All in all a miserable stay.
A comfortable Stay
The staff in this hotel are simply excellent, very polite and helpful.
The room was larger than I expected, although a little dated. Overall it was clean, tidy and the bed was comfortable.
The room we stayed in had only a double sized bed, not even a king size - a bit of a problem after a super-king at home.
Pillows hard, quilt not big enough as it was only wide enough to cover the top of the bed. The heating when we arrived was overwhelming but the engineer quickly arrived and turned it down and also showed me how to use the free hotel wi-fi. The next day we couldn't turn the heating back up as we didn't have the right spanners. The carpet was a trip hazzard as it had stretched and had a massive crease down the middle. The hotel building is impressive and has great facilities with a leisure club and golf course. However, the bedroom is where you stay most hours and that was a let down. We dined in the restaurant on one evening and enjoyed the food and excellent service. However, my partner was disappointed at the choice on the menu - preferring something less fussy if it had been available. Good pubs and restaurants nearby within walking distance. Housekeeping was poor as my partner had to ask twice for a top up of tea and coffee. For what was a "posh" hotel my partner, after many years of wanting to stay there, was very disappointed. We should have known as the price on laterooms for staying appeared quite a bargain, hence our booking. Maybe we should have upgraded as the price we paid was no different to the other hotel chains like premier. Because of the hotel's long standing reputation it was great saying to a colleague that we were staying at the Selsdon Park Hotel - but little did he know.
Poor quality hotel living on its past reputation now in need of vast sums of investment
Three rooms declined due to faulty facilities, damp, mould, smell of bleach and worn, stained and dirty carpets.
Fourth room just acceptable but under constant footfall and creaking ceiling Kitchen noise and constant disturbance resulting in two hours sleep. Management sorted quieter room for second night apologised and agreed vast sums of investment are needed.He was the only person who seemed to care.
Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club
I like my room's interior, however there was no insulation from sound, light, or smoke.
My neighbour came back from the bar very late and smoked in his bathroom a lot, so much so I was worried the smoke detector in my bedroom was going to be activated, the sound from his TV, the light from his room and the smoke came under the door and affected my sleep. I put a pillow against the adjoining door and the pillow stank in the morning. The menu looked awesome but the food was poorly cooked. I was charged £45 for a glass of wine, with few diners it wasn't busy and a mistake that wouldn't have been picked up by anyone else other than me.
Although we only stayed one night we enjoyed every minute, friendly staff and lovely room what more could you ask for.
G18 room was very poor, Windows not opening the view from the top Was very depressing listening to the staff talking.
Dirty stain on the ceiling
Tile on side of bath was stick back looked messy
Bath had a crack that was black and mouldy (infection control)
Had to walk through a crowded bar to get to and from spa at 2pm in the afternoon
Response from hotel
Thank you for your feedback and my apologies that we did not meet your
expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments
have been reviewed with my Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers to
ensure that any issues are resolved and do not reoccur.
Trip to the past
The hotel was located in beautiful settings with a golf course.
However the hotel needed some updating in the bedrooms. The room we were allocated was called " The Lord Archer Room" as he had stayed there during a book signing date. The room was comfortable but it needed to be brought into the 21st Century.