You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

4

Queen Street, EXETER, EX43SP

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sharon J

  • August 2016

The room was spacious and very clean with a lovely bathroom.

Sound proofing of the room was an issue as the people in the next room although not overly noisy could be heard very clearly talking and moving around.

  • N Clark

  • July 2016

Are room was so hot couldn't sleep 4star would have expected air con could not open windows more the 2 inches would not go there again it was are anniversary very disappointed

  • Jonathan M

  • July 2016

Excellent service, let down by one fatal flaw

I stayed for 4 nights and I have to say my experience was mixed.

Firstly, the good points: the customer service at Reception was excellent by different people; ditto in the bar and in the breakfast room. Staff were proactively helpful and this is a rare thing nowadays. The hotel is in a excellent location and was quiet at night. The food both at breakfast time, but especially in the bar at night was excellent if a little expensive. But unfortunately, the overall experience was hugely marred by the total lack of any air conditioning in the hotel. Words cannot describe how hot and stuffy it became in my room and having spoken to another guest, it appears to be the case throughout the hotel.. They did provide a desk fan, but this simply blew the hot air around rather than cooling the room and was very, very noisy. The windows only opened a little bit.

It's a real shame that this made my stay much less pleasant than it could have been. It's worth noting that the hotel is part of a large group of hotels so there's really no excuse for them not spending some money on installing air conditioning. I think most people would expect AC as standard these days, especially for a supposedly 4* hotel. If you're staying in Winter/Spring it's probably fine. But I cannot recommend a summer stay because of the sweltering rooms.

  • Daniel H

  • June 2016

Backwards

Nice hotel poor customer service i don't know what time it was but at a certain point at night you get locked out and have to stand around outside pressing buzzers that don't work and knocking the door to try and gain someone's attention to be let back in which I think completely defeats the object of having a hotel.

also manager was very funny about having anyone back to the room who wasn't booked when it was booked for 2 people and it was only booked in my name. very disappointing and to be honest feel like i've wasted my money

  • Mary Roberts

  • May 2016

First ever stay at Mercure Exeter Rougemont

Very pleasant hotel across the road from station.

  • Adam S

  • April 2016

General

All went well, no issues.

My wife and I, 3 children, 14, 11 and 6. All enjoyed.

  • M Harrison

  • March 2016

Trip into Deven & Cornwall

Stayed two night with a friend.

Used the Hotel as a base for travel was on train into Cornwall & back. Hotel next to station.

  • ian A

  • March 2016

Disappointed

Our 'Deluxe' room was far from reaching a deluxe standard.

Grotty bathroom, noisy fan, no working phone, basic furniture. Not worth paying the extra over, this was poor basic room with robes and slippers.

  • Stephanie W

  • January 2016

Good but plenty of room for improvement

Very convenient location, good availability and price of parking.

Large room with standard facilities. Water took a long time to get hot which was frustrating. Bed was big but not very comfortable partly due to being 2 beds pushed together. This combined with heating being left on far too high led to a poor nights sleep.

Staff friendly and helpful.

  • R Townsend

  • January 2016

Relaxing great bar great breakfast

Relaxing great bar great breakfast