You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Ramada Cambridge - A14/M11

3

A14, CAMBRIDGE, CB23 4WU

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (83)

64% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jennifer M

  • October 2016

Pleasant accommodation, extremely helpful staff, but at least 10 miles from Cambridge

The greatest asset in this hotel is the staff.

They are truly OUTSTANDING and everyone I met was willing to go the extra mile for their guests. I did encounter a few problems with my room, but these were revolved in a timely, friendly manner. The rooms are large, there is a wealth of dawer and wardrobe space, power points, and generous quantities of tea and cofee (even biscuits - a really nice touch!). I needed to work for several hours a day in my room, but the large desk made that relatively painless, and during the day the wifi was consistent - important because I needed to upload documents - and I experienced no bandwidth problems whatsoever until around 6.00pm when other guests were returning, and everyone needed to log on to the internet at the same time. But that's often the case even in expensive city-centre hotels. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant, offering a concise but well-chosen dinner menu and a decent selection of wines, all at very reasonable prices, but only between 6.30pm and 9.30pm and closed on Sundays. Bafflingly, there is NO after-dinner coffee!. The buffet breakfast is available every morning from an unusually early 6.30am, which is great, and it offers a full English menu as well as a good selection of Continental charcuterie and cheeses, and excellent fresh fruit (though the coffee is dire!!). All in all, I'd definitely recommend this unpretentious hotel which provides comfortable accommodation at very fair prices, and, based on my experience, have requested my employer to designate it an accredited hotel for staff on duty-travel in Cambridge. That said, and in fairness to anyone reading this, I must point out that the cost of a taxi fare into town (£20+ one-way), coupled with the absence of public transport, means it is essential to have a car (in reality the hotel is a good deal further from central Cambridge than the stated six miles!). On the other hand, it's in an ideal location (imho far better than a Central Cambridge hotel, given the city's infamous traffic-jams) for easy access to the Science Park and the Siicon Fen, whilst its situation next to motorway services means there is a wealth of fast-food outlets to hand, as well as M&S Simply Food and WH Smith for any emergency supplies. Overall, the Ramada Cambridge is a real winner!!

  • PAWEL C

  • October 2016

Good place to spend the night but could do with some TLC

Friendly staff in 24h reception and nice looking hotel with free parking at the front of the property.

Room was a 3 star with some buts... (no lift so ask for a ground floor room if travelling with bags and kids). Kettle and complementary hot drinks tray in the room is always a bonus and a nice touch for me. The few things I would point out to the hotel though are:

1. bathroom including shower and toilet could do with either a better clean or refurb as I wasn't brave enough to check if the stuff round the shower door and toilet bowl was to clean or just mold build with time. Don't get me wrong it wasn't horrible but when you spend £112 for 2 nights cleanliness is the least you would expect when starting to look around before you go to bed. 2. beds as well need mentioned - when you book a room advertised as "Family Room with double bed and a double sofa bed" you don't expect it to be 2 singles put together and uncomfortable when laying on the joint in the middle and the double sofa bed to be two not even the same height beds put together.

3. Last but not least is the FREE WIFI. It's BT Openzone and it's absolutely rubbish. Constantly dropping out and asking me to log back in. I'm with EE on a 4G plan and have to say I couldn't even use my data plan as reception in this area is rubbish ad well. Wife is with Vodafone and hers was little better but couldn't get a decent signal to even check the Google maps for driving directions. Needs sorted as a matter of priority. Good place to sleep the night but for the price paid I would expect more.

  • Rebecca S

  • July 2016

Lovely to a degree, served its purpose.

My partner, 4 month old baby and myself stayed at the ramada for two nights as we were attending a wedding in a nearby village.

When I booked the hotel originally, I booked Friday and Saturday night. We later decided to book Thursday night aswell so we could enjoy a long weekend and because we were already travelling on the Thursday and it seemed to make more sense continuing down the county instead of driving back to Durham to drive back down the next day, so when I rang to add on a THURSDAY night booking the desk man, Aaron, told me it would be an extra £80. I was a bit shocked, as FRIDAY AND SATURDAY night were £55 and £65, and to me those nights are the most expensive being the weekend. Regardless of this, we accepted and then arrived on Thursday at around 5pm. The hotel looked nice from the outside, and we made our way to the reception desk, where a lovely lady knocked some money off Thursday nights price, and told us that if we were walk ins we would have been charged the £80, but because we had booked with laterooms for another night we wouldn't have to pay the full amount, which I was extremely grateful for.

The room was lovely, we had brought half our belongings with us, for the baby, but there was plenty room. I took my steriliser and my prep machine for her bottles and they fit well, along with the Moses basket and playmat and the huge pram. The bathroom was adequate, although the shower was lovely with a seat in it was comfortable. Right next door to the hotel is the food places. Macdonalds, el Mexicana, patisserie Valerie, kfc and a noodle bar. Oh and a costa coffee. I give this hotel overall 4 out of 5, simply because I didn't think there was a very family friendly atmosphere in the premises. The doors were hard to open with a push chair and there was no lift. They were accommodating and put us on the ground floor, but if there hadn't have been a ground floor then we would have been very stuck. The prices of the food was extortion though, so we never ate within the hotel, and went to the outlets next door which were literally a two minute walk.

  • Mary Seguss

  • May 2016

A pleasant place to stay

Very clean, comfy bed.

Staff friendly and helpful.

  • paul h

  • May 2016

.

.

  • Mohammad K

  • May 2016

Excellent stay - will book again!

Had a really good rate advertised for a room in this hotel - and thought it was quite convenient for a short jaunt into Cambridge - avoiding the high parking charges there.

The room was clean and nice, had two single beds joined together as one so as to make a 'King size' one.. but cannot fault the quality of the sleep I had there.

Breakfast was so and so I think, passable. The staff were really helpful and courteous, and offered a few tips as well about a visit to the town.

Would definitely come again especially if offered the same rates.

  • R Turner

  • May 2016

Ramada Cambridge - A14/M11

Very good.

  • K R

  • May 2016

overpriced

Room was small.

I paid too much. It was difficult to get to via public transport.

  • karen y

  • April 2016

A good nights sleep

We have stayed here a few times now, and would go back, as it is convenient for us, however I would point out a few things.

We booked family room through late rooms, and the hotel claimed we had only booked a double, luckily we did arrive early and had proof of our booking, so they did change us, this has happened before, and last time they gave us a put-you-up bed in a double for our daughter. They then tried to charge us wrong, luckily I spotted this, so this was amended.

I didn't find the receptionist to be very friendly at all. I thought the first face you see when you enter a hotel etc should be warm and friendly, but that wasn't the case.

Also our hairdryer wasn't working, but I didn't bother complaining about this as it was the same last time I went, and they didn't have a spare, so nothing they could do.

One other thing that is slightly annoying, but didn't really effect us, is the staff seem to have no concern for people sleeping when they are having their coffee / cig break in a morning. We had to set off at 8am so we were up early, but two staff members were stood outside chatting very loudly, this isn't the first time I have noticed this, If I had been wanting my sleep, I would have opened the window and asked them to either stand elsewhere or shut up.

Having said all that I would stay again, as we do occasionally need somewhere in the area to stay.

  • R Lewis

  • April 2016

Ramada Cambridge - A14/M11

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accomodation given the affordable room rate.

The room was very spacious and managed to still feel large even with 3 boys under the age of 10. The en suite was basic but completely met our needs. The room was clean and tidy and in good decorative order.

All members of staff were wonderfully helpful and were all warm and accomodating to adults and children alike.

We thought that the location was great in order to access cambridge, using Milton Park and ride (10 mins drive from hotel), which took us straight into the centre of town.

Overall a good value, clean, friendly and accomodating hotel - and for us it was a perfect stopover hotel.