You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3

166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (95)

45% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Clare R

  • March 2016

Not value for money

This is the poor end of a budget hotel.

The staff did the bear minimum for customer service and seemed stressed when asked questions. The family room was freezing cold, the only source of heat was an old storage heater on the wall. The duvets on all 3 beds were also paper thin. Breakfast was also a disappointment with dirty tables full of dirty crockery, not enough tables laid for a fully booked hotel and the breakfast itself was poor. The staff did not seem interested in clearing tables or ensuring the coffee pot was full. The whole place is in need of a refurbishment and for the same price you can stay in other inn that is much better value for money. We will be doing this in future.

  • samantha moss

  • February 2016

great value for money

Great value for money staff really friendly

  • nathan H

  • January 2016

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

The room was outdated, came with one towel (lucky I brought my own) and a broken toilet flush.

The hotel itself needs a paint job. I booked the hotel because it had a swimming pool, in which I was not told that was extra to use (normal hotels include this in the price), I used a swimming pool every morning, so I had once, but never again. It was a health and safety risk, was not clean not maintained well and the sauna was broken. In addition to use the locker you needed a padlock. I had the pleasure of building work during my stay in which again I was not informed about. I was here for job interview and was attempting to do my dissertation. So, again if I knew I wouldn't of booked. I didn't even bother attempting to try the food. I was that disappointed I couldn't stay here any longer, so I left the night before.

  • Donna W

  • January 2016

On arrival the staff were very helpful and polite, The room was way too hot the radiator must of been left on all day, The bed linen had a rip in it and wasn't white more off a off colour however after a good night out on the beer we got back to the hotel to have to go and find some one to serve us a drink then went to bed the room was too hot kept waking up even though had the windows open the noise from other guests was ridiculous people running up and down the corridor shouting and screaming at gone 2am in the morning.

Then to sum it all up got up for breakfast to find no staff on duty until we'd helped ourselves to the food witch the hot food tasted like it had been cooked then left and reheated it tasted horrible.

  • R Dawson

  • December 2015

I will never stay at this hotel again.

Room was way too hot, the bathroom was very basic and not very nice at all.

The hotel itself was super complicated to get around and the lift made you feel like you were going to die every time you stepped inside it. Food was way too expensive so had to live off of pot noodles etc. The walk was the worst. It said it was only a 20 minutes walk to and from the city centre but it was actually 45+ minutes. It was horrible. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • C Parker

  • December 2015

Tired Room

The Decor of the room was tired with what appeared to be Lining paper very poorly put on the walls.

Lighting was poor and meant running around the room putting all lights on seperately. The bath had what appeared to be a hardboard painted panel on the side. Although the room was relativley clean but the noise during the night was a large negative for the stay. The room door appeared to be of a relatively low quality and noise passed through from the hallway with ease.

  • Allen D

  • December 2015

Good no problem stopover.

Arrived late evening, still serving bar food.

Room had everything needed. Left early. No complaints, no issues. Ample parking at the back which you don't know about when you first arrive and think there are no spaces.

  • Andy W

  • December 2015

Tired rooms not well maintained

The hotel feels like a converted office block.

Reception areas OK but rooms and corridors poorly decorated and tired. Room not that clean. Good staff on reception. Characterless dining room with local radio station too loud for breakfast. Note: I think some of the rooms are being used for housing asylum seekers or refugees, noisy conversations in the rooms, groups of young foreign nationals sitting around reception or outside the front doors smoking.

  • N Sheimar

  • December 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

Stayed here as was pretty close to central Birmingham.

When I first arrived I was put into a room which seemed quite dim and outdated. Toilet was broken so the maintenance man told me to go to reception and change rooms, which they did and the next room I moved into absolutely stunk of cigarettes so once again I was moved. It was annoying moving into 3 different rooms, with no offer to help move my stuff, staff were happy enough to move me although they didn't have a very friendly approach. The room I stayed in was a family room, much more modern than the first room I was put into and very clean so no complaints on that front - I had already booked in for another 4 nights the following week and requested I had a similar room. Mattress was not great at all, would not pay full price to stay here.

  • Lisa P

  • November 2015

Hotel a bit tired

Rooms were ok, bathroom towels very small, kettle didn't work.

Reception and bar area needs heating. Breakfast not very warm.