You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3

11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (113)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Justine M

  • October 2015

Great girly weekend

Was initially sceptical about the rooms after reading previous reviews, but i was pleasantly suprised.

I had room 248 which was a spacious single room. It isn't one of the redecorated rooms, but it was absolutely fine. It was clean and comfortable.

I don't know if my radiator wasn't working, or was just turned down, but my room was cool. This was a blessing because the corridors are boiling. There's tea and coffee supplied in the room, but no fridge, so if you don't drink hot drinks, it would be difficult keeping a drink cool in the summer. The breakfast was superb. It was a buffet which catered for everyone. There was fresh fruit, fruit juice, yogurts, cereal, bread for toasting, danish pastries, cooked option and tea and coffee

There's a pool, spa and Italian restaurant on the site. The prices seemed very reasonable, however as we already had plans we didn't use them so i can't comment on them . There's plenty of parking, and you're only a street away from the seafront, and about a 15 minute walk into the town centre, so it's a great location.

  • Garry L

  • October 2015

Value and location

Good value for money with everything you need from a hotel.

Great location.

  • Remo D

  • October 2015

Wessex Hotel

Accommodation very good.

Breakfast very poor in quality.

  • Janet C

  • October 2015

Far exceeded our expectations

The Wessex far exceeded our seaside expectations.

We found a spectacularly clean hotel with a very charming staff. Well worth the cost of upgrade to executive I feel. Separate shower cubicle and bath with ample hot water and the biggest, softest towels ever. Evening meals, which we ate in the Hotel both nights by choice, were appetising, hot and very well presented. Would we stay again. Without a doubt, yes.

  • Karen S

  • September 2015

Could be better

The staff were polite and helpful.

The hotel's decor was dated and really needed refreshing. The room was ok but had a musky smell. The breakfast selection was good but the quality was not.

  • Stephanie C

  • September 2015

Perfect Location

I needed accommodation close to the Bournemouth International Centre and this hotel is perfectly located for the Centre and the beach.

I understood from other reviews that the hotel decor was dated, so I expected that, but the room was comfortable and clean. The staff on reception were very helpful as was one member of staff who showed me to my room.

The breakfast was also as I expected; a buffet with hot and cold selection. The restaurant was very busy at the time I took my breakfast and there were a couple of near collisions with guests carrying hot teapots, so I think it would be safer if tea/coffee was served at the table and guests helped themselves to food only.

  • D Reid

  • September 2015

Comfortable, everything you need for a short stay

  • Gordon W

  • September 2015

It's the little things that count!

Room not ready until 30mins after check in time,three nights out of four no ice at bar, groups of dancers in ear shot of guest in public areas from around 10am until midnight and gone,dogs allowed in public areas and on the settees chairs etc.The hotel is much different to what it was from our last visit some 12 years ago.

  • B Roberts

  • August 2015

Leisure break

We had a very pleasant stay at the Wessex hotel the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent loved the porridge!.

We would stay again if we were in Bournmouth.

  • Paul E

  • August 2015

Overall good value for money.

Staff, cleanliness, food and location excellent.

Hotel needs a little TLC but good value for money. However we booked a standard double room but we had two singles pushed, not fixed, together and both the beds and the floor squeaked dreadfully with every move. The only window in the room had a notice on it saying ' Danger Do Not Open'. Not ideal!. Other than these minor points we had a great break.