Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
24% would recommend it to a friend
Short stay review
Only stayed for one night.
Was good to stay here but the price of the room was too high for what it is. However, if I needed somewhere to stay then I would come back. Close to town centre too.
Horrible stay, seeking a refund
We had read all the terrible reviews on trip advisor but the weekend we wanted to come up this was one of the only hotels available so we thought we'd take a chance....
don't. We had no hot water for the duration of the stay and when I reported it in the morning to try and get a shower before we left the very rude receptionist (who's only accessible over the phone) asked me why I didn't report it during the night. I explained we didn't get back to our room until gone 1am but apparently it was our fault, as if it was a luxury to have hot water. No apology whatsoever.
Another customer was so irate about something in the morning they started screaming and threw a large vase which smashed right outside our door. When I complained in the morning the receptionist said they couldn't believe I was complaining after they got us breakfast... the breakfast which we had PAID for and they forgotten we had until we reminded them and was pathetic to say the least, certainly not worth £5 a head.
When I said I was going to complain to laterooms she said 'I don't care, I'm just the receptionist'.
Not very nice!
Had to book this place last minute.
The rooms were tiny, they had the shower and bed all in one room, very odd and the decor was random and unattractive.
Not a great stay to be honest, slept there and left early in the morning. I guess you get what you pay for.
Do not stay here. Not worth it.
Had called owner previously to ask if we could turn up at 11 as we had a wedding to get to by 12.
Said was fine. Arrived on the day to a rude gentleman who said we could not check in until half 6 as stated on our booking form. He said it wasn't his problem etc. Eventually put us in a room. Wasn't expecting a 'deluxe double' to be two single beds pushed together with mismatched dirty sheets. Seemed to be no management. No one could be bothered to help and said no refund was possible. During our one night stay two couples left because their rooms were worse than ours.. Would definitely not recommend!.
I'd rather not stay here again ...
The greeting at reception (which reminded me of a cab office reception) was welcoming ..
once someone appeared. We were behind a lady who had difficulty checking in due to her booking being 'lost' which delayed our check in and we were on a time schedule so this was a little frustrating.
We managed check in efficiently but were a little shocked to be given a post it note with a numerical and alphabetical code to gain access to our bedroom. A little tricky when you return to the hotel late and the hallway is rather gloomy.
The room was tired and the bathroom dirty and poorly equipped. The toilet roll holder was broken. The soap dispenser was too large for the tiny sink. But at this stage we were grateful for a room.
Our room was on the ground floor. The net curtains were about a foot too short for the window meaning that visitors to reception or standing outside could see into the bedroom. One of the staff waved at us through the window. A little disconcerting, and it meant we had to have the full curtains closed when changing. The 'wardrobe' was some hangers on the back of the door to an adjoining bedroom. It was poorly painted and the furniture looked like it had come from a second hand shop. We declined breakfast which was an additional 5 pounds charge as the breakfast table would only seat 2 and it didn't look particularly inviting when we saw it laid out for others.
We arrived back late to the hotel as we were at a festival, and were told that although the front door locked at 2 am, the back door was permanently open. Wonderful for our late access but hardly secure. The garden was looking sorry for itself with a couple of caravans at the end of the garden, and old guttering and old pots strewn across the forgotten lawn.
Parking charges are additional dependent on the size of your engine. I'm not aware that a 2 or 3 litre car would take up any more space than a 1 litre. The parking was laid out in such a way that engine size was completely irrelevant. Overall the room gave us quite a few laughs due to the poor condition of everything, but I wouldn't return unless I was completely desperate. Which is unlikely ...!!
Avoid like the plague
Response from hotel
Dear Mr Dave Franks
Thank you very much for your comments. It would be nice to know which area
was like a plague to you as we could have improved our services for future
guests if may applied.
the place is old
bedding is old
mattress is uncomfortable (spring sticking through)
not at all clean
don't waste your money
Response from hotel
We are sorry that you did not like our hotel. We have checked all the points you have raised in your review and found out that the mattress had a little split in it, as it was reported that the guest who used that room before you, had a very heavy tool box with him that was placed on the bed. Staff noticed that when he requested for room service. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. A new mattress has been ordered.
Never again would not recommend, very cold room dirty used bed sheets no heating and on top of this they have the cheek to charge £10 for parking in there car park.
Response from hotel
We have conducted an investigation and we are very sorry that the guest did not like this room. This room has two modes of heating. Standard radiator which is centrally controlled and also an electric heater which can be fully controlled by the guest as per their comfort. We are assessing our double glaze window in that room to identify whether we need to do any repair. This room was checked by our QA department on 20/3/2016 and we agreed that the walls had coffee stained by the previous guest who used that room. But this situation was fully resolved on the 20/3/2016 as per our photograhic evidences. As per our record, Mr Paul Wright's car park space was charged at £5 cash. We will investigate with staff how much exactly was received in our till, for that charge.
Should Mr Wright had reported this matter there and then, I am sure receptionist would have arranged to have this room checked and any concerns would have been looked into.
We thank Mr Paul Wright for his comments as this enable us to put things right, as now we have a new manager in place who is very proactive and take reviews very seriously to give the best services to our guests.
We regret Mr Paul's experience on that particular occasion and we can affirm that his next visit to that same room will be an enjoyable one, if he ever wants to visit us and we will provide a special voucher discount for him.
absolutely the worst accommodation i've ever stayed in.
I am shocked that laterooms who I've trusted in the past would sell this place on here.
It is at best a hostel which insults hostels everywhere. Filthy. Booked and paid for 2 nights could not stay the second night couldn't wait to leave. Avoid at all costs n read trip advisor reviews.
Wuold not stay again or recomend to anyone
asked to leave card info incase we broke or stole anything, charged extra £10 per night for parking, when it rained at night the roof leaked in our room,(room5).
the shower head holder was broken on arrival, which was repaired the the following day. Not happy at all.