You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Kelham House Country Hotel

3

Main Street Kelham, Newark, NG23 5QP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Peter M

  • September 2016

Surprised - pleasantly!

Chose the hotel as a Sunday night stop over on the way back from Glasgow.

Was very pleasantly surprised as its a beautiful location and building. The (executive) room in the main house was excellent. It is clearly a wedding hotel. The main restaurant was closed on a Sunday night (I was warned by phone) so we ate in the bar on a similar menu. The food was excellent but no dessert selection. Not much ambiance in the bar especially with only 3 couples dining. There is a well known local pub which I guess gets all of this trade. Similarly story for breakfast, but again the food was excellent. Overall a great hotel and would recommend.

  • Ian M

  • April 2016

Great hotel

Very welcoming, pleasant room, and a really good size.

Proper bath,. Dinner was not available on first night, but that may have been because it was Sunday. not a problem though as thee are many places to eat around. Breakfast was exactly what one would have wished, served promptly and with generous proportions.

  • Jean Davidson-Smith

  • March 2016

Nice room shame about the hidden cost

Room was very modern clean and smart but gloomy and cold.

Although we had agreed to the price of £70 for a one night stay when I went to pay I was told it would be an extra £15 for the dog. This charge was dropped when I explained that nowhere on the web site was this charge displayed. I rang to check the booking for the dog before our arrival and was not informed of any extra charge. I wondered what the £15 extra charge was for as the dog was not allowed in any part of the hotel other than our room and then only on the floor. We provided the dogs bedding and food. I can't think it would take a cleaner an extra 2 hours to vacuum the floor especially as the dog is a small poodle cross that does not shed hair.

  • Nigel M

  • March 2016

Kelham House Country Hotel

Splendid location

  • Steve J

  • January 2016

"Excellent" Doesn't Quite Seem Enough

Having been led astray by my satnav we found the hotel opposite the entrance to Kelham Hall.

The hotel is a very tidy building at the end of a short driveway with a parking area to the side. Although fairly close to the main A617 road it is virtually hidden by the trees and shrubs lining the drive and it is very peaceful both in and around the hotel. The front door leads directly into the very welcoming reception area and we were swiftly on the way to our room. Room 5 is one quarter of the upper floor with its own entrance hall. The large bathroom was bright and spotlessly clean, with a large bath and a shower which, as I found out in the morning, rivalled an industrial pressure washer. The room itself was very spacious with 3 large windows looking out over the front of the house and one to the side facing adjoining countryside. All the furnishings were top quality and the bed was extra large and extra comfy. The complimentary coffee tray featured the regular fare along with green tea and even a coffee machine. The hotel boasts a well deserved AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence. Our meals would most certainly have beaten the TV professionals offerings. The dining room was very inviting and we dined whiilst looking at the floodlit tree outside through a light snowfall. Breakfast again brought culinary delights, with all the usual cold fare available before placing our order for cooked food. We chose for the scrambled eggs on toast and have never tasted such creamy, light and tasty eggs. All in all, Kelham House is a really good place to be and one we didn't want to leave in the morning.

  • sarah b

  • August 2015

Kelham House Country Hotel

Excellent country house hotel.

Food amazing bedroom large comfortable and modern. Great experience would stay again and highly recommend.

  • C Murphy

  • July 2015

Excellent

Can't rate this hotel highly enough, excellent accommodation, service, staff, food and facilities.

I will definitely be back and I have already recommended it to my colleagues.

  • E Davies

  • July 2015

Great place to stay

Arrived at the hotel first impressions were great When Nina Stood up to welcome us.

The room was clean and large overlooking the front of the hotel. Could not fault the staff nothing was not too much bother they were warm and friendly. Food was of a high standard with a warning on some items there would be a short wait as all food was freshly made to order. Believe me the wait was well worth it. Only stayed for two days but would have liked to stay longer. If we are ever in this neck of the woods again I will be staying here. In all a great place to stay.

  • Marion S

  • June 2015

One night stay

Quiet location, staff friendly & helpful.

  • Mr Hutchinson

  • April 2015

Great hotel

Can I say what a lovely hotel, I would stay again.

The rooms were great, the shower was brilliant powerful and woke me up in the morning, the food and drink was top class.

Cheers Hutch.