You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel

2

16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (116)

47% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • sean b

  • January 2017

Filthy, disgustingly and dirty.

The bed was old and joining together with 2 different bases, mattress was concaved and springs pressing in your back.

We tried to get a bath in the morning but the water was not coming out the tap enough to fill the bath it would have taken hours to fill a bath. Smells of smoke and stains on sheets and walls, no way to close toilet door. No manager available to complain too.

  • S Limbu

  • December 2016

Great for the price

It was great for the price.

  • Claire A

  • October 2016

Cheapest sea view room in town but not for light sleepers

Great location, cheapest sea view room you'll ever find.

Only draw back is the floor boards are very creaky and we could hear a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms. Excellent value for money, however, the breakfast was actually pretty decent.

  • David P

  • October 2016

Never Again!!!

Knowing that this is a budget hotel, we were not expecting much.

Although we did expect to be able to get some sleep. The room were were allocated (room 7, ground floor) looked like it was a larger room that had been divided to create two rooms. The dividing wall must have been made from hardboard with zero insulation as you could hear even whispers from the room next door. Unfortunately on this visit we were unlucky enough to have neighbours in the next room that insisted on talking loudly well into the early hours. Not only this but they then started to sing to each other. This continued past 2am. We were catching an early ferry and had to be up at 5am therefore our plans of staying locally in order to be closer to the port and having a better sleep backfired as we had next to no sleep. If you like a hotel that needs refurbishing and don't mind noisy neighbours, then this is for you!!!. Cannot review the breakfast as we did not stay for it.

  • Eileen Seddon

  • October 2016

The Carlton Hotel

This hotel has made tremendous improvements under the new owners and we would certainly recommend it.

  • S Mills

  • October 2016

room

Arrived and was forced to upgrade as the room was unacceptable.

It reminded me of a motel room on a American series where you find someone dead in the bath was terrible. I had to pay for the upgrade. was forgotten to give a breakfast token and the worst thing is the only difference in the upgrade was the carpet and wallpaper disgracefull. The manager there Kevin was great, all the help he could give I was forced to make sure no1 stayed under me as the floor boards are so good damn noisy. it was unreal the bed was noisy to couldn't believe it.

  • Tracy A

  • September 2016

Charlton B&B, Folkestone.

Dog hairs on the carpet/ flooring, dressing table very tatty and worn, wallpaper was dark gloomy and defo not good choice for the small room, fire issue as the fire was so close to the bed (about 10" from corner of bottom of bed), if we had of put fire on the room would have gone up in flames, said we had free wifi but couldn't connect to it, and shower hose wouldn't stay in shower holder and water for shower didn't stay hot for long.

Apart from that breakfast was nice in am and nice area of Folkestone being on the Leas. Done its purpose as just needed a room for 1 night but wouldn't have stayed longer than a night.

  • Keith H

  • September 2016

The Carlton Hotel

Smile sometimes.

And say hello to your guests.

  • R Heyhoe

  • September 2016

disgusting hotel

Stayed here on 27th August.

Arrived at 3.30 am after a horrendous drive from france. I had booked a family room with two king size beds. when we checked in the room had 1 double bed and 1 single bed. went to reception to complain, nothing they could do as they were fully booked. The room was absolutely filthy. There was still hair in the shower from previous occupant. My two kids had to top and tail in the bed only had 3 pillows, as room as only for 3 people. The window was cracked. The t.v had a French plug on with no adapter. We did not have the breakfast as if the room was anything to go by I could not trust the standards. the corridors leading to the rooms smelt of damp. do not stay here. would have gone some where else but had already spent 20 hours in car coming back from France.

  • Paula W

  • September 2016

One nights stay

We booked this hotel as we couldn't get in at the premier inn.

It was cheap and all I can say is,you get what you pay for. Its not what we usually go for and we won't be staying there again. Its a shame as the staff were very polite and helpful.