Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
65% would recommend it to a friend
Service was really poor
Unfortunately, the service at my time of arrival was really poor.
I had to wait a long time for the check-in, but more importantly, I had to wait for about an hour before being served at the restaurant. It is a bit of a shame as it is a nice authentic hotel, but I would not return there because of my experience.
One night stay
Polite welcome at reception.Arrived late in evening due to meetings at work.Room adequate with modern bathroom however quite small.Comfortable bed with plenty of pillows and crisp white sheets.Only downside was a continuous ticking noise coming,I presume from the plumbing.Had a quiet drink before sleep in the study which was quite comfortable.Had asked the young lady if they had dry roasted peanuts to have with my drink but when she brought them to me in the study they were a mixture of plain nuts which were tastIest.I didn't object as I thought they must be complimentary as they were in a small ceramic dish.Found out when paying in morning they were £1.00.Small issue but they were tasteless.Just these two issues otherwise fine.Friendly checkout in morning.
Caistor Hall Hotel
A lovely country house in need of a bit of tlc
Set in beautiful countryside with a first class pub up the road this proved good value for money for us as we were going to a wedding near-by.
We would recommend it.
Lovely location, great customer service
Decor is a little tired, tv is older but has all channels.
I found it good for the couple of nights I required and the customer service was spot on!
manageress shocking attitude, drunk men spilling drinks, banging on doors
i stayed her as i had a harrowing case to work on the next day and needed rest, what i faced was horrible.
sat at the bar drinking my wine, expecting to wind down..instead two drunk men spilling drinks, going in and out of bar, so i left and went to bed. at 12.30 the said drunk man was outside my room kicking my door (laying down!) having urinated himself..how the bar staff carried on serving him is beyond me. later on that night he carried on running up and down the corridor making noise. no staff sorted him out. the manageress attitude was shocking, she didn't apologize, or offer me a refund. she was very narky and disbelieving. horrible attitude. felt really vulnerable at this hotel, do not go if your alone.
Response from hotel
Following our direct contact in which I outlined our upmost regret for the disturbance during your night here, our apologies again if this contact was considered unapologetic. It most certainly is not disbelief, and we offered our apologies prior to investigating any of the matter, it is our upmost importance that guests leave satisfied. As discussed, the disturbance was of 2 individuals who had visited a football game nearby, and returned at approx 10pm, which we established through CCTV and staff shift patterns. We did regretabely have an issue with them, spilling drink (not urinating as suggested), and they were not served further drinks at the Hotel. As one of 7 rooms on this corridor and the only room affected, it is most unfortunate of the timeframe and occurances to have been situated there. Our recollection is that the entire occurance took approx 10-20mins to unfold and resolve, and we felt our staff acted as quickly as was possible to defuse the matter. Our team assisted in escorting them directly to their rooms as soon as we were aware of the matter. Once there, we see they do not move until late morning so the disturbance, although regretable, was at the point of their return and we have no note or coverage that it was continuous. Of course had it been continuous throughout the night in this manner you state, we would urge you made contact with the staff to resolve. Our Night Porter monitored this following the initial return and we regret that the efforts of our staff were not satisfactory for you on this occasion.
I do hope you can appreciate this rare occurance and use us again when working in the area.
Staff made the weekend a real pleasure.
I stayed in 205, the room needed an update.
There was a broken pane of glass in the window, which I needed to open as the room was very warm. I struggled quite a bit with the window, as it was a sash window and there was no counterbalance on it. The bathroom was very dark and was an extension of the wardrobe units, very weird and very dated. The TV had a free view box and 2 remotes, the TV one was a universal remote, no instructions, after 10 minutes I gave up. I phoned reception 3 times, no answer and eventually had to go done to the bar to ask for help. The food and service was great and I did have a good night's sleep though. It was good value for money.
I booked the room well in advance and we were allowed to check in early.
The room and stay were both very nice, although there was no jacuzzi bath. The day before our stay I received a call saying that there would be no restaurant available for dinner due to company parties going on. I was given the option to cancel but at such late notice I couldn't find anywhere else so couldn't cancel as the stay was for my husbands birthday. Due to this fact we had to get taxis in and out of Norwich and ear out.