You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3

35 Portland Street, Manchester, M1 3LA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (276)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Bahia

  • December 2016

Worst nights sleep in a hotel

Stayed here the night before a conference at the Central Convention Complex: good location, close to Piccadilly station and close to the conference.

Rather dated foyer and bar give clue to quality of hotel rooms: extremely dated triple room, terrible single beds, cold (couldnt get radiator to work), room obviously not cleaned thoroughly (jelly beans and bits of old paper from packaging still on floor), but this would have been fine except for...horrendous road noise in the room compounded by the constant sound of people in the corridoor throughout the night, exacerbated by a drunk girl spending the entire night banging on het room door as her friend had locked her out. All for £130. Bathrooms havent been upfated since 70s either.

All in all would not stay here again.

  • Michael Z

  • November 2016

Old Britain

Once upon a time there was a majestic hotel...

By now it is all bit dated really, the room was very small, the bathroom could do with a makeover and why did I had to pay the full price for the breakfast booked in advance when you get a discount if you pay for it during check in?

  • Julie J

  • November 2016

Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

Ideal location but room was noisy and even though the bedding was clean everything smelt of stale cigarette smoke, temperature dial on the shower was very hard to turn especially for my elderly mother.

  • L Marshall

  • November 2016

Paying for location

It's very grand in the lobby but the room was tired and the window only opened with a fair bit of force.

(the safety catch was broken too) The location was perfect for what I needed but since staying have found lots of other places that would have been cheaper and cleaner in the same location. Needs desperately updating to make it worth the money.

  • Julie Wright

  • November 2016

Christmas market stay

Good value for your money good service friendly staff comfortable room happy hour 3 till 8 in the lounge bar will be staying again

  • Paul Bromley

  • November 2016

Reliable hotel

Stayed here many times, hotel is good value, and all the facilities you'd need.

Plus they have smoking rooms.

  • William C

  • November 2016

just right location and price

Everything good-however, the lifts need sorting badly

  • Lesley W

  • October 2016

Don't stay at the Britannia Manchester

Our executive room was tired and shabby.

No chic whatsoever. The outside of the windows were layered in dirt. Having them open to cool the room (as there was no air conditioning) was not possible due to the booming noise from the local clubs. No luxury toiletries. Some suspicious looking body wash/ shampoo in a wall dispenser and a tiny bar of soap. Tea bags for 2 cups of tea only. No room mini bar. Free wifi only outside of the room. Expensive for what you get.

  • Kevin N

  • October 2016

Room was value for money and stayed the one night.

Always a queue at reception and glad only had to use reception once when checking in. Reception area is large but only two people on at reception. Check out was 11.00am yet someone entered my room at 9.00 am to clean the room. I paid £54 for a nights stay which was ok but wouldn't pay more for a room. The hotel has deals with car parks in the area which you will find out when you have parked up and check in, so makes the deal useless unless you know which car park to use before going.

  • d molyneux

  • October 2016

one night stay

It was ok for one night, how ever i fail to see why the room we got was called executive as it was very basic with the smallest tv ever which was too low down to watch.

There was always a queue at the reception and I feel £ 7 for wifi these days is expensive.