You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Village Hotel Chester St Davids

3

St. Davids Park, Ewloe, Chester, CH5 3YB

Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

57% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • GARY M

  • February 2017

We both enjoyed our stay, however the first point of call at reception was poor the lady was very matter of fact had no people skills and made us doubt our choice of hotel booking.

From then on the stay was a success, maybe improve the quality of hot breakfast items

  • D Royal

  • January 2017

Village Hotel Chester St Davids

Underwhelming.

Tried to use the gym which was the reason I booked the hotel, and could not get in as it was greatly overcrowded. First 2 selections I made from the menu at dinner were not available. Room was good quality but that was it. Would not use again.

  • A Dixon

  • January 2017

Village Hotel Chester St Davids

The room was very noisy with the sound of traffic from A55 along with the sound from next doors tv.

Sounded as though it was in our room. Food was poor. Just had fish and chips but batter was very hard. Breakfast ok.

  • trevor b

  • December 2016

Xmas eve - perhaps a bad night to stay

Room looked nice when i entered & i was initially happy.

Sadly, when i went in to the bathroom to unpack toiletries, i noticed that the sink had not been cleaned and it was quite well covered in freshly-cut beard trimmings. Having tried to contact housekeeping and been unsuccessful, i cleaned it myself. Later in the evening, walking in bare feet in the bathroom, i stood on two pieces of broken glass. My sleep was also interrupted by the noise of the room doors closing and some noisy neighbours - the sound insulation between rooms (if any), wasn't too good. I reported the glass and sink next morning, when checking out at 6:30am.

  • kevin mooney

  • November 2016

Not good value

Expensive bar , Dinner was good but bit overpriced , Quality of breakfast very poor , Hotel & room was clean but overall it needs some updating , Staff are friendly & helpful.

Some children let run around bar 'tll late - not the hotels fault but they should have been told to sit down or leave !.

Okay for one night stop over but I think there is better quality & value available locally.

  • L Lewis

  • August 2016

Village Hotel Chester St Davids

Great wedding get away.

  • C ward

  • August 2016

Fantastic over night stay

No complaints at all.

  • S Walker

  • July 2016

Needs a bit of TLC

Good hotel needs a bit of TLC in some areas like the bathroom some tiles cracked needs up dating.

The restaurant was nice but expensive for what you get.

  • P SHERLOCK

  • June 2016

Most hotels now keep spare toothbrushes just in case.

This one didn't, only gripe really.

  • M Jones

  • June 2016

Very nice but should try harder for the price!!

The hotel is very nice, and staff friendly and helpful, however during our stay some work was being carried out near the reception area meaning the only way to reach the upper floors was to take a winding, confusing detour through the gym/spa area which was poorly signposted.

Luckily we only had a small bag between us but I pity anyone with a suitcase having to navigate the corridors and stairs. The room was comfortable and clean, though we only had one set of towels for a room that was booked for two and quite frankly, for £150 a night I was surprised the room didn't have air-conditioning, especially as it was so warm and the open window meant being woken up by the sound of traffic. Breakfast was very nice but the waiting staff didn't seem bothered to clear tables of bowls /plates as they accumulated, only a small gripe I know, however for the price I'd expected better. All in all a good hotel but lacking some attention to detail.