Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > Italy > Veneto > santa croce Hotels > Carlton on the Grand Canal
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carlton on the Grand Canal

Santa Croce, F.ta S. Simeon Piccolo, 578, Venezia, 30135
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal, overlooking Venice's Grand Canal, offers a rooftop cocktail bar with terrace and spacious, Venetian-style rooms. Santa Lucia Train Station and the Piazzale Roma car park are both 5 minutes' walk away. San Marco Square is a pleasant 25-minute walk away, also reachable by vaporetto water bus.

This romantic 4-star hotel has an elegant interior design with Murano glass lamps and antique furniture. All air-conditioned, rooms come with satellite TV, a minibar and a private bathroom with hairdryer. An American breakfast is available each morning, and Bar Carlton Café provides drinks plus snacks throughout the day. La Cupola restaurant serves Italian and international dishes. Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal gives you free access to the Venice Casino.
Picture of Carlton on the Grand Canal, Venezia at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel & Location
Right on the Grand Canal the Carlton was the perfect place to stay for our trip to Venice. Easy to get to located at the end of the Grand Canal very close to Bus & Train terminus, but only a short walk to the Rialto bridge. Staff were great and helpful. The only down side was the drinks were expensive at the hotel, but this was more than made up for by the roof terrace.

Reviewed by
Chris Underhill

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I complained about the room being tiny yet advertised as a 'superior double' reception told me they can't control what description other websites (like late rooms) put on there website.

Reviewed by
Nick C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location (trains, buses, water taxis, gondala)
querky

Reviewed by
s sancaster

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jim and Jo 2014
Everyone must understand that Venetia is a crumbling city. So you are not going to get something new like at, say Dubai, Jeddah, Hong Kong or Shanghai. So fabric is put on the wall
to hide movements in the wall structure that paper would obviously have not withstood.. However, I paid for a superior room with a Grand Canal view. I did get the view but did not get a superior room. The TV was old format, the bathroom door scraped on the tile floor, the bath itself was not designed to take someone like me at 1.83 metres tall and any broken tiles had been replaced by a tile of a different colour. However, the employees were the redeeming factor. They did everything possible to make our stay at the hotel enjoyable. Advice, from transport to menu was forthcoming and unbiased. They made the vacation a treat.

Reviewed by
James Taylor

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok but very overpriced
The hotel lobby was very grand however the rooms were not so grand and could do with an update especially the old 70s style bathrooms. Overall it was clean, the bed was a little hard for my liking and only 2 small pillows. The price for one night was €170. I went to florence the next day and paid less than that for 2 nights in a 4 star also which was like a palace compared to the Carlton.

Reviewed by
charlie e

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Thre room and elswhere in the hotel was spotless. Only critisim is of the breakfast where the fruit salad provided was surprisingly the cheap in syrup tinned variety very dissapointing

Reviewed by
G Jane

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
The Breakfast was not of the standard of the rest of the hotel. Whilst the staff were very pleasant the quality of the food was the worst we have experienced travelling through Italy at least twice a year for the last 15 years in hotels ranging from 3 star to 5 star.

Reviewed by
a Coker

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.